Postmodern, Emergent and other buzz words

Tunes: Mourning September, Glorietta

Went to Kevin and Nikki’s today to pray over the Source and what God will do through that ministry. We were planning out some of the logistics but I found it hard to focus. I was just enjoying being with my friends too much I didn’t want to get “down to work.” I think that’s a good sign for the ministry, after all that’s what the Source is about. It’s about creating community. That community will be centered in God’s word but ultimately the Christian walk all comes down to relationships: with each other and with God. It’s not a set of rules (no matter how much I luv rules) or commands to follow. So even if we have trouble getting down some of the planning details I think we’ll be good because we know how to practice the community we preach. (and we did finally end up logging a few things on the todo list, praise God for Kevin and all those of a task oriented nature)

It’s funny, it just occurred to me that I’m uber task oriented when it comes to the worship team. I always get frustrated if people start talking to much and I always want to work more on the music. I think this has multiple causes. I think I’m more confident in my ability to lead MY kind of worship & Bible study @ the Source than I am leading a different style on Sunday mornings which causes me to feel musically insecure and desiring more practice time.

I think the core of it might be my relationships to the other people on the worship team. I’m ashamed to admit that I don’t even know everyone’s name. Could it be an age difference thing? Could it be because I’m still relatively new?

Hmm, I was feeling a little uneasy earlier tonight. I think I just needed a little bit of overanalyzation to feel comfortable again. ahhhhh.

1 Response to “Postmodern, Emergent and other buzz words”


  1. 1 Dawn April 28, 2005 at 1:06 am

    Hey Billy, thanks for stopping by my site! I’m glad you enjoyed the show, and it was great talking to you afterward as well.


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


