2 steppin’ honest

these arguments tear me apart
when i don’t even know how
to start to explain myself
in the plain words you’d understand
and even though you taste my solid tongue
you never kicked up your skirt to run
away from me and my stammered words of blame

two steppin’ honest
When i said, it never meant anything
i thought i could repent
if you’d only step your 2’s w/ me
this notion i’ve come to regret
i took for granted all you’ve kept
a secret while i slept my blues away

when my heart is under lock & key
please don’t take it personally
cuz it’s not you
and it is me
i’m the one who’s staging to the right
i’m the one who wishing upon
satellites & nightlights
instead of shooting his own stars

you want an honest answer
i want an honest dance
you want an honest answer
i want an honest chance to say i’m sorry again
2 steppin’ honest
i want an honest chance
to take back all the words that i’ve yet to say

Author’s Notes:
Apologies on the all lowercase letters. When I wrote this song I thought that was cool and indie. I now realize that all lowercase most likly ceased to be cool and indie post e. e. cummings. This is also the one and only song I’ve ever recorded professionally. Upon hearing it my brother’s friend Mike said, “‘Too steppin’ honest’, that’s funny. You should change the name to ‘Too f***ing honest.'” I love Mike to death but this didn’t amuse me. I told him it wasn’t “Too steppin’ honest” as though I’ve been way too honest, which is probably true, but that’s not what the song’s about. It’s “Two stepppin’ honest” like I’m being honest in the same way a dance is honest. “Scout’s honor, Two steppin’ honest.”
I actually wrote this song several years before I learned to 2 step.

1 Response to “2 steppin’ honest”


  1. 1 blue August 15, 2005 at 10:14 am

    i totally had this song stuck in my head the whole time at michigan’s adventure but the only words i remembered were these:
    and even though you taste my solid tongue
    you never kicked up your skirt to run
    away from me and my stammered words of blame
    so amber got kind of annoyed with me n_n eewps


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


