Engaged

On Sunday morning I asked Sarah to marry me and she accepted. Life is so crazy awesome blessed I can’t even explain it. I’d been planning my proposal from when I was still in Michigan, I can’t tell you how many times I had to bite my tongue so the words “Will you marry me?” didn’t slip out of my mouth before the right moment. I prayed a crazy lot about it and finally God brought me the idea He wanted. It involved leading Sarah on a scavenger hunt by following clues hidden around her house looking for a piece of chocolate, but at the end instead of the chocolate was the engagement ring John and Mandy made for me. Some of the clues took her to websites I had made that you can check out:

www.geocities.com/WhereIsSarahsChocolate www.geocities.com/WhereIsSarahsChocolate/OnlineAgainWhatAPunk http://www.geocities.com/whereissarahschocolate/ThisHasReachedOfficialRigamaroleStatus/
A real God thing for me was the fact that Sarah didn’t even say, “yes” to my proposal. Sarah’s mom had told me that when Sarah was young she used to stop talking and just nod or shake her head to questions even if you weren’t looking at her. I have noticed Sarah do this when things are especially powerful or emotional for her. The fact that she nodded “yes” to my proposal makes it amazingly meaningful to me because I know I hit her heart. (You can see Sarah nodding her head on the video I made with my secret hidden “Proposal Cam”)

Then was another kewl God part happened cuz after I got up off my knee and kissed Sarah, Eve-Marie, who had been following along on the hunt with us said, “I want some jewelry too!” And at that point I pulled out the ring I had bought for Eve-Marie and asked her if I could marry her mom and be her Daddy.

If you want the more poetic version of the story you can check it out on Sarah’s site:
http://sarahmchia.blogspot.com/2005/12/riddle-of-day.html

I have so much more to say on this. The last two days have felt like years in terms of how they have impacted me emotionally and spiritually. When I asked God, “Is Sarah the girl you want me to marry?” He didn’t answer with a “Yes,” either; He shouted back with a chorus of “Yeses!” that is still continuing to confirm our decision to get married. I’ll also say that preparing to be a dad has given me crazy new insights to God as Father that I’ve never understood in my entire life.

Happiness, contenment, and joy are all possible with Christ.

5 Responses to “Engaged”


  1. 1 Anonymous December 16, 2005 at 2:50 pm

    Congratulations Billy! 🙂 -Steph

  2. 2 Susan- from theSource December 18, 2005 at 4:12 am

    Congratulations Billy and Sarah! May God continue to bless both of you as you start your journey together and through this upcoming holiday season

  3. 3 jennnnnnnnnnn January 11, 2006 at 4:19 am

    you guys rawk and stuff! the more i read your blog, the more i realize how perfect y’all are together, and i can’t wait to meet you and to have you meet my hubby, too! 🙂 🙂 take care, blessings, and careful planning to yas both. this is gonna be raaaaad!

  4. 4 klampert July 10, 2007 at 11:39 am

    fantastic…truly man…I actually let my proposal slip out. lol nice work holding out


  1. 1 2 Years Ago Today « Billy Chia Trackback on December 11, 2007 at 9:51 am
Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


