Batterson on Pulling the Plug

Mark Batterson has me on the verge of tears with his blog post about pulling the plug on a service at National Community Church this summer.

I don’t think this was his intended reaction but his concept hit my heart hard. The basic recap is that NCC is stopping one of their services simply because it is not achieving it’s purpose anymore. That’s so beautiful I can’t really wrap my head around it.

I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve been a part of some ministry that wasn’t really working. The logical thing to do would have been to just cut it, scrap it, bury it, or leave it alone for awhile and start over. Instead we lumbered along putting energy and effort into a wasted effort that was unproductive. I personally believe it’s a sin to be unproductive with the gifts God’s given us.

My heart’s pretty broken right now thinking about all the time’s I should’ve quit instead of dieing a slow death. I’ve died 1001 slow ministry deaths over the years.

On the flip side I’m dejected thinking about all the time’s I did take the initiative to stop something that needed to be stopped and everyone around me just mourned the loss to a ridiculous level and hated hardcore on my strategic decision. I’ve taken tons of flak over the years and this post kinda brings up some old wounds. I wonder how much flak Batterson is taking over his risky call?

I know, I’m overreacting. I guess I’m just a moody kid.

3 Responses to “Batterson on Pulling the Plug”


  1. 1 Lewis September 4, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    man, i’m so with you. right now, i’m seeing this from a perspective of i’m not being allowed to use the gifts i have to the best of my ability. i really wish that i could, but i can’t right now. and that super sucks.

    but i suppose there’s this part of me that says sometimes god allows us to go through this stuff, this time of non-purpose, to really build us, prepare us for the future, and to ultimately bring about his purpose in our lives to his glory.

    just sucks we have to be there, you know?

  2. 2 Billy Chia September 4, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    Lewis,
    Funny enough man I wrote this post like 2 months ago and never published it because I thought it was “too transparent.” I decided to stick it on my blog tonight as a “private post”

    You actually happened to read it and comment on it before I had the chance to hide it again. So since you thought it was cool, I’ll leave it up for everyone to see.

  3. 3 Lewis September 4, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    What can I say, dude? I’m a quick Google Reader reader. =)


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


