New Bike

Eve-Marie and Ashlyn got me the best father’s day present. (And one day early no less.)
New Bike

What makes this present extra cool is that originally the bike was donated to a garage sale Sarah’s mom put on to raise money for a CFC mission trip to Hong Kong. The bike didn’t sell, so they bought it for me. I get a bike and the trip gets more support. We all win.

I love that they bought me a used bike. I can’t stand buying things new. Especially cars and to a lesser extent clothes. Our consumer culture of waste tells us we need to throw away things that are still useful simply because old isn’t trendy. Newer+younger=better is a formula for self degradation. We live it out in our buying habits and it subconsciously attacks our self worth as well.

I also love that my Father’s Day present has a cause that is deeper than just me and that’s the best Father’s Day present of all.

We need to be more conscious about spending our money with companies that do more than just put out a product. They should be working to better our communities and the world. Now, I have no idea what Huffy supports through their corporate ethics, and perhaps used products are exempt from this rule, but my point is that money is too valuable to just spend in exchange for a product without thought as to what will happen with that money when it leaves our hands.

What’d you get from your kids? (or for your dad?)

2 Responses to “New Bike”


  1. 1 Sarah June 16, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    My kiddos have a super-duper surprise for their daddio. It’ll be sweet.

    For my dad, an e-card! I love technology.

  2. 2 Lewis June 20, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    I love biking man! I’ve been out so much this summer already, it’s awesome! Unfortunately, my brakes decided to completely crumble (literally) today after transporting it from Freeport to Cincinnati and back. I don’t know what happened. The bike guy said he had never seen it before. Strange. I love your present. It looks sweet!


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


