Father’s Day, Baptism and Trendy Books

In a Pit - coverIn a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day by Mark Batterson arrived in the mail today. My wife handed it to me and said, “Happy Father’s day!” I get presents early and late. My family rocks.

Sarah received This Beautiful Mess by Rick McKinley from the UPS man, and already cracked into it.

In chapter one McKinley compares some methods of studying theology to studying human anatomy:

 

It would be like cutting up a corpse to figure out what it meant to be human – sure you’d end up with identifiable body parts in formaldehyde and maybe a micron photograph of a neurotransmitter, but the wonder of pulsing human life would elude you…You can study God expertly in his parts and miss Him entirely in His Being.

This Beautiful Mess
As Sarah read this quote out loud at our kitchen table it resonated deeply within me. I was baptized as a baby and have been recently wrestling with the concept of getting baptized again. A lot of the argument feels like cutting God up and putting him into jars of formaldehyde.

Have you been dissecting God lately?

2 Responses to “Father’s Day, Baptism and Trendy Books”


  1. 1 Sarah Chia June 21, 2007 at 7:01 am

    I always knew that those God-talks with all the answers left me a little queasy. Now, I have the perfect illustration to explain why.

  2. 2 worshipcity June 21, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    OH OH book review! I saw Beautiful Mess in the back of an old Relevant Mag I was flipping through and became extremely intrigued!


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


