Bible Journey > Joel

Here are my thoughts and highlights from Joel as I continue my journey through the Bible:

  • Joel means “Yahweh is God”
  • Joel is from Judah, and possibliy Jerusalem
  • Written maybe around the time Joash was king (835-796 B.C.) but is a hard book to date
  • Sometimes weeping, mourning and despair are not only appropriate, they are commanded
  • The worship leaders are called to lead the people in lament
  • “Blow the ram’s horn trumpet in Zion” is a repeated refrain. This is a public call for community repentance, not an individualistic faith.
  • Even Nursing infants are an important part of this community gathering of repentance
  • As much as a call to mourn sin and repent is a call to celebrate God’s rescue
  • Peter quotes Joel in Acts 2:
    • “I will pour out my Spirit
      on every kind of people:
      Your sons will prophesy,
      also your daughters.
      Your old men will dream,
      your young men will see visions.
      I’ll even pour out my Spirit on the servants,
      men and women both.
      I’ll set wonders in the sky above
      and signs on the earth below:
      Blood and fire and billowing smoke,
      the sun turning black and the moon blood-red,
      Before the Judgment Day of God,
      the Day tremendous and awesome.
      Whoever calls, ‘Help, God!’
      gets help.”
  • In this part of scripture God pays back evil for evil and makes sure sin “boomerangs” on the nations
  • Despite all the anger and condemnation, Joel ends on a hopeful note
2 Responses to “Bible Journey > Joel”


  1. 1 klampert July 7, 2007 at 6:58 am

    great thoughts. and some challenging tidbits…

    thanks for stopping by my neck of the woods…Im adding you to my blogroll.

  2. 2 Daniel Tomlinson July 7, 2007 at 9:14 am

    Your exegesis(what it meant for Joel’s audience) and hermeneutic(what it means for us) perfectly balance the paradox of hope and suffering they faced and we face today. Excellent.


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


