New Friendlier Categories

Going through old blog posts brings up great memories. I cleaned up the “categories” section of my blog and found some real gems.

Engagement Story

My favorite posts were some images I created when I was trying to figure out what kind of engagement ring to buy Sarah. I told her I posted some “abstract art” on my blog and asked her which she liked the best. I also posted pictures of an ugly sink and told her, “here’s a sink I like but which color should I get it in?” hoping to find out if she liked white or yellow gold. Despite the obviousness of my post she was still clueless as to my scheming. Here’s the ring I finally chose.

About Blog Categories

Simplifying the number of categories I use was difficult. I ended up having to stick my Rob Bell post into Blogging which I think is a stretch but I’m also trying to think ahead. The idea is that any post that primarily links out to other web pages will be just “blogging.”

I’ve slashed my category count to 13. I guess that’s good for now. In the future you might see the Books, Podcasts, and Tunes categories condensed into a “Media” tag, but I’m not ready to go there yet.

On a side note, it’s lame that clicking on a tag next to the post name takes you to the wordpress.com listing for all blogs using that tag instead of my blog’s category page for that tag like my sidebar links do. I guess I am getting this thing for free.

Any thoughts on how to keep a blog simply tagged?

2 Responses to “New Friendlier Categories”


  1. 1 Sarah Chia July 8, 2007 at 5:39 am

    Here’s the real truth of the engagement ring posts:

    Billy told me over AIM that he and his dad went to Lowe’s and he saw a couple of faucets and wondered if we were re-doing a kitchen together, which would I want? Well, the only difference in the ugly faucets was the colour, as he mentioned above, so I said, “Well, I guess #2, but only because I don’t like yellow gold…hint, hint.” And he said back, “Yeah, that was in a no way a scheme to devise what color ring you want.” Or something to that effect, and then he promptly posted his “abstract art.” And I was well aware at that time what he was doing, so I made up a crazy “artsy” reason for liking the round picture simply because I wanted a round diamond.

    There.

  2. 2 Sarah Chia July 8, 2007 at 5:39 am

    P.S I like you new categories.


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


