Bible Journey > Zephaniah

Here are my thoughts and highlights from Zephaniah as I continue my journey through the Bible:

  • Zephaniah means, “Yahweh had treasured” or “Yahweh has hidden”
  • Written between 641 and 612 B.C. (Josiah of Judah)
  • God’s ticked because of idol worship and judgement is coming to the Jews in this book
  • The call to repentance is
    • Seek a quiet and disciplined life
  • I need a “quiet and disciplined” life
  • God’s promise for an unhypocritical faith:
    • In the end…I’ll give them a language undistorted, unpolluted,
      Words to address God in worship (3:9)
  • God’s promise for redemption
    • I’ll heal the maimed;
      I’ll bring home the homeless.
      In the very countries where they were hated
      they will be venerated. (3:19)
2 Responses to “Bible Journey > Zephaniah”


  1. 1 Eric Wakeling July 26, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    Sweet blog! Thanks for commenting on mine.

  2. 2 Sarah Chia July 26, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    It’s been a while since I read the minor prophets. But I like those promises that God gives. I like the call to repentance. I feel like it’s very applicable to Americans in 2007.


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


