Baptized

The thing is I’ve always loved baptism services. I just get fired up about my faith when I see people getting baptized. Once the service started today I was so energized by the 22 other testimonies I totally forgot it was my baptism service too.

Here is a video recorded by Sarah, my wife, and Ashlyn, my 6-month-old daughter. (If you think a 6-month-old might not be extremely adept at handling a video camera you would be correct. Props to Sarah for actually catching the moment after Ashlyn bumped the camera.)

Here is my baptismal testimony:

I’ve been a Christian all my life.

It’s like David says in the psalms, “From my mother’s womb you have been my God.”

I was born in a Christian household, my parents baptized me as an infant and I was raised in the Church.

It’s like it says in the proverbs, “Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it.”

So here I am 28 years old, and I’ve never departed from faith in God. My entire life I’ve been identified with Christ even though I’ve never made the choice myself to be baptized. Today is not about doing something new or starting over it’s about continuing in the amazing adventure that God has always done in me.

I’ve wrestled for many years with what it means to be baptized as an infant and what it means to be baptized as an adult. I’m not done wrestling yet, but I have come to a point of action.

My infant baptism will always be meaningful to me. It’s part of my heritage. It’s who I am.

But for me, being baptized today is about obedience to Christ and an open show of repentance.

15 Responses to “Baptized”


  1. 1 scott hodge August 5, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    Congratulations on your baptism Billy! What an great step in your life. Appreciated reading/hearing your story. Thanks for sharing!

  2. 2 josh reich August 6, 2007 at 11:45 am

    congrats on your baptism. i would be curious to hear your thoughts on infant baptism. what does it mean? is it symbolic? etc.

  3. 3 Sarah Christine August 6, 2007 at 12:12 pm

    Billy, I’m very proud of you for deciding to get baptized; and, I enjoyed listening to your testimony of faith and devotion.

  4. 4 Billy Chia August 6, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    Josh,

    Yeah, I’ve come to a point where I’d essentially equate infant baptism with infant dedication. Simply sprinkling a kid with water doesn’t do much unless the parents are committed to Christ in their parenting.

    In the Lutheran Church I grew up in, part of the liturgical rubric written in the hymnal that was recited each time a baby was baptized not only asked the parents if they would teach the child how to pray and read the Bible but also asked the entire congregation to commit to the same task. I always thought that was powerful.

    On the other hand reducing baptism (at any age) to merely a symbol in an attempt to avoid the “baptism saves you” theology seems like overkill. Yeah it’s symbolic, but it’s also more.

    There is something profoundly spiritual that happens during baptism and communion. I can’t really explain how God is present or how he exactly works through the sacraments, but after all the early church did call them “mysteries.”

  5. 5 erin August 6, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    Liked your post…. wish we could share on our new blog we’ve been trying to work on 🙂 Praise Him and God Bless..

    http://heretotestify.blogspot.com/

  6. 6 josh reich August 6, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    Excellent thoughts. I would agree that it can become dangerous to have a theology just to avoid “baptism saves you.” That is a great way of putting it. I like how you said there is something “profoundly spiritual” going on during baptism and communion.

  7. 7 Mom & Dad August 6, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    hey Bill,

    Watching your babtism on tape was the next best thing to being there to witness personally, awsome!!!!

    We are very prouc of you and Sarah and also very happy that you have such strong faith in Jesus Christ our Lord.

    God Blessings,

    Mom & Dad

  8. 8 Bobby Williams August 6, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    Awesome Billy! There’s something freeing about getting dunked right!

  9. 9 erin August 6, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    Thanks for letting us post your “Baptized” post on our new blog, Here to Testify. This kind of thing is just what we pray to have and share on our site. Would love to hear day in and day out stories of how or why others choose Jesus or what He is doing in them. Awesome site you have.

  10. 10 Billy Chia August 7, 2007 at 8:51 am

    Erin,
    You’re welcome! I’m totally flattered that you wanted to. Everyone, go check out Erin’s commentary.

  11. 11 Daniel Tomlinson August 7, 2007 at 9:14 am

    God be praised for softening our hearts as we choose to yield to his gentle whisper. Thank you for sharing yourself Billy.

  12. 12 Matt August 8, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    Congratulations on your baptism. However, you might want to listen to this: http://wayofthemasterradio.com/listenwatch/ToddFriel_Sermon-Bethel_TX.mp3

    Kind of gets to the heart of things doesn’t it? Remember, many on judgment day will say “Lord, Lord” only to hear “Depart from Me, I knew you not.” Search yourself and make your calling and election sure.

    God bless.

  13. 13 Bill August 8, 2007 at 9:39 pm

    Hi Billy,
    Congrats on your baptism and on your continuing walk with Jesus. Thanks for blogging with us too.

    We will get to visit in person someday….here or at the big wedding.
    Blessings. Bill

  14. 14 Billy Chia August 9, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    Matt,
    I’m very assured of my salvation.

    And I think you’re kinda weird.

  15. 15 backandthen August 5, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Congratulation!!! I had someone typing the word “rebaptized” on google who got to my blog and I like to type words that led to my blog to see if they looked through a lot of pages or not. Well I don’t know how this person ended up on my blog looking this word up on google since I don’t see it anywhere on google but I have found yours.

    I understand how overwhelmed with joy you must feel when commiting yourslef to follow Chirst’s example. Making this step and having your family supporting you.
    I wish you to always remember where to turn when you need help, when you feel this is just too much for you. I wish you to always remember how you have felt on your baptism day :o)


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


