Bible Journey > Zechariah

Here are my thoughts and highlights from Zechariah as I continue my journey through the Bible:

  • Zechariah means “Yahweh remembers”
  • What an awesome name. Scripture says to remember the sabbath (Ex. 20:8) and to look on the tassels and remember Yahweh’s commands (Num. 16:39) and yet we are reminded that “Yahweh remembers”
  • A contemporary of Haggai (Post exile, circa 5:20 BC)
  • This book is full of parallels:
    • A return from exile and a return to God
    • A rebuilding of the temple and a rebuilding of the nation
  • “You can’t force these things. They only come about through my Spirit” (4:7)
  • Zechariah is full of apocalyptic imagery: Lamp stands, books, horses.
    • Each image has a meaning and an interpretation.
  • 2 things God judges: Liars and thieves
  • God doesn’t accept worship acts with out a worship heart:
    • “When you held days of fasting every fifth and seventh month all these seventy years, were you doing it for me? And when you held feasts, was that for me? Hardly. You’re interested in religion, I’m interested in people” (7:5-6)
  • Typical prophet stuff:
    • “Well, the message hasn’t changed. God-of-the-Angel-Armies said then and says now:’Treat one another justly.
      Love your neighbors.
      Be compassionate with each other.
      Don’t take advantage of widows, orphans, visitors, and the poor.
      Don’t plot and scheme against one another—that’s evil.’ (7:8-10)
  • God changes people from bad news people to good news people
  • “Keep your lives simple and honest.” Decree of God (8:17)
  • The humble king comes riding on a donkey
  • Like tools rebuilt the temple, God uses people the put the world back together
  • God kills two-thrids but and the remaining third gets thrown into a refiner’s fire.
  • The Big Day is coming full of hope and dread.
1 Response to “Bible Journey > Zechariah”


  1. 1 Daniel Tomlinson August 16, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    I connected with these thoughts on worship. I wish in our worship we could come to the table as brothers and sisters more often. It’s like you said, about relationship with God and each other, but there are so many veils, baggage or issues that keep our corporate and private worship times a strictly private matter. I know I’m part of the problem, and so I pray for strength to cross the barriers, build the bridges and let God work through me to make worship a relationship thing. Lord have mercy.


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


