Contest Winner: Mandy Thompson

Last week I ran a contest to help me select a new profile pic. All the cool kids were changing their pics and I wanted to fit in.

Here are some of the suggested profile photos that didn’t make the cut:

IMG_4252

Mandy Thompson trudged through my flikr archives to select the new pic you see (photoshopped by me to fit with my theme) and I’m proud to pimp her blogs as a reward.

Although Mandy is a relatively new blogger she has a avid following on two different blogs :

  1. Blending Worship – A niche worship blog with an emphasis on discussing the tension between traditional, contemporary, and blended worship. I’d personally like to hear Mandy’s take on emergent worship and what it means to be doing traditional, contemporary or blended worship in a postmodern context. (hint hint, post idea) She is straight forward and unapologetic about her views and I believe that has contributed to the popularity of her blogs.
  2. Just a Girl – Mandy’s personal blog. Great stuff here as well with a diversified topic range.

Points of Interest:

  • Mandy’s music – Check out Never and A Mother’s Song
  • Whatever Wednesday – This is just fun. The day starts with a question. You can comment an answer and then ask your own question. The next person to comment answers your question, poses their own and from there it goes. Try it. You’ll like it.
  • Drew, Mandy’s Husband, is a classy guy. Check out #3 on Mandy’s Marriage Post.

Thanks for participating in my contest, Mandy.

You rock.

11 Responses to “Contest Winner: Mandy Thompson”


  1. 1 tam August 22, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    Got here from Mandys blog – also you’ve commented on my husband Brents (inWorship) blog

    Mandys got skill! Great pic! Great blog! Your daughters joke is hilarious! my kids jokes…not so funny!

  2. 2 inWorship August 22, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    Great pic.

    And, wordpress it is!

  3. 3 Sarah Chia August 23, 2007 at 7:03 am

    I still say you shoulda gone with the dorkified one.

    But I guess I should be proud that my all your layout photos are provided by me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    (P.S. I love you. And.you’re.hot!)

  4. 4 mandythompson August 23, 2007 at 7:19 am

    i’ll be writing an acceptance speech sometime tomorrow or in November or maybe next year.
    and props to your wife for providing the material! ๐Ÿ™‚
    and, hint hint!??? LOL…..
    well – this’ll have to suffice:
    as postmoderns value community, they may enjoy the historical and generational connection that hymnody offers; on the other hand, as postmoderns question and critique established truth, they might not go for the appeal to historical and scriptural authority found in the content of many hymns….
    i think the emergent/emerging church is still emerging/growing… so i’m waiting to find out what’s really going on with that movement before i offer ANY educated responses! (i’ve even been taught about this emerging/emergent movement in one of my seminary classes, and our professors have not yet reached a clear definition… but, honestly, what i’ve seen of the incorporation of a variety of art/expressions and emphasis on individual participation is REALLY good stuff…)
    problem is, i don’t think i’m a sold-out postmodern, and have not had adequate exposure to emergent/ing styles of worship.
    all that to say, i’m begging out on account of ignorance! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 5 mandythompson August 23, 2007 at 7:20 am

    ps: the b&w profile pic matches the b&w banner… just an added bonus!

  6. 6 klampert August 23, 2007 at 10:15 am

    ha ha…yeah mandy!

  7. 7 Billy Chia August 23, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    “i donโ€™t think iโ€™m a sold-out postmodern”

    Mandy,
    Good call. I also am hesitant to call myself “postmodern” or “emergent.” Those words hold a variety of undefined meanings so once you start using that language there’s somewhat of a need to define it as well.

    I’m also hesitant to call myself “a postmodern” because often “postmodern” means “no objective truth,” or “all truth is relative,” and I simply don’t believe these things.

    However, we do live in a relativistic culture. Our culture is a postmodern culture and one of the reasons “postmodern” holds such diverse connotations is because our culture is diverse.

    In this way I believe asking the question, “What does it look like to do ministry in our current cultural context?” is valid.

    From my point of view you are already blogging about postmodern culture becuase your blog is relevant to today. I respect your ability to say, “I know about this. I don’t know about that.” Although I appreciated your commentary on why hymns may or may not appeal to the postmodern mindset.

  8. 8 Daniel Tomlinson August 23, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    I love the dialogue here about worship, evangelism etc. Speaking as a believer about the age old hymns we grew up with, I am sometimes jaded in our progressive Church of Christ/community style church when we sing the old hymns because I love the deep passion that some of our contemporary songs can express. I need to repent, but whose to say the unbelieving postmodern is not more moved by the hymns we Chris Tomlin type’s are jaded by? Make sense? I think we need to mix it up, and there is nothing wrong with having an entire contemporary praise worship assembly. God will get through to those that are receptive whether we sing Amazing Grace or God of wonders beyond our galaxy. You are holy, holy. I’m not sure what the name of that song is. Kudos and Ciao.

  9. 9 inWorship August 24, 2007 at 10:35 am

    Billy – I totally agree with you. We are doing ministry in these “cultural” times, but doing ministry here and now does not define our ministry.

    If a ministry is labeled emergent or post-modern it is generally because they have taken on a look or feel that allows itself to be called that. That isn’t necessarily bad, but it could be dangerous if down the road that ministry continues to change itself to look like it’s label.

    The church has it’s own label, and no one else can claim it. The church needs to be a light in the post modern and emergent cultures. But, we have to be careful to always be labeled who we are, God’s bride.

  10. 10 Billy Chia August 24, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    “The church needs to be a light in the post modern and emergent cultures.”

    Brent,
    Great point. I like to talk about being a church who ministers “in a postmodern context” much more than I like taking about being “a postmodern church.”

  11. 11 Fred McKinnon August 25, 2007 at 8:28 am

    Ahhh .. I feel like a celebrity .. to have produced Mandy Thompson’s infamous “Cray” album … to have celebrated the day that it went Platinum ..er… I mean.. Gold .. er… i mean .. Aluminum. I have Mandy Thompson on speed-dial. I knew her before drew swept her away, and she was Mandy dubberly. Aren’t I the real celeb?

    HAHAH … congrats Mandy .!!!

    Fred


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


