Ragamuffin Blog Growth

When I started my blog I saw it as little more than an online journal. I was using Blogger and then copying the same content to myspace, xanga, and livejournal in order to keep up with friends I already knew. The thought of a stranger commenting on my blog kinda creeped me out. Then one day I learned the true power of blogging and this happened:

Blog Stats

That’s right, in the entire month of May I had only 11 hits on my blog. In August I netted over 3500. That’s still small compared to some guys, but I’m not gonna gripe about a 320% improvement.

So how did this happen?

  • I ditched Blogger for WordPress
  • I stopped making every post, “This is me rambling about my boring life” and started putting up content that was little more helpful and a little more amusing
  • I made friends with other bloggers by commenting on their sites

And what was the catalyst for this change?

Ragamuffin Soul

Yeah, three months ago I Googled “Worship Blog,” and what I found shifted my paradigm. Since then Ragamuffin Soul has been a daily read for me. Los’ unabashed honesty, hip kid meets dorky kid demeanor and non-stop fun attitude makes for an insightful look at faith that challenges convention while it entertains. To top it off the ragamuffin community who interacts there is equally as rowdy. It gave me a vision for what my blog could look like.

Granted, Los and I are different shades of gray so Inept as Icing has a flavor all its own, but some comonalities do exist:

  • Both of us are Fathers with 2 daughters
  • Both of us are Worship Leaders
  • Both of us are named “Carlos” (my middle name)
  • Both of us are bald

I totally did not make that last one up:

Bald

Thanks Los for keeping it real.

16 Responses to “Ragamuffin Blog Growth”


  1. 1 Fred McKinnon August 31, 2007 at 5:00 am

    Hey,

    No doubt, Los has inspired more of us than he’d ever know … kudos where they are deserved, for sure.

    Awesome growth, btw .. congrats! I’m honored to be on your blogroll!

    For the Kingdom,
    Fred

  2. 2 Alastair August 31, 2007 at 6:28 am

    Hey Billy, congrats on the growth – that’s fast! Man, your resemblence to Carlos is creepy… πŸ˜‰

  3. 3 tam August 31, 2007 at 11:11 am

    Yeah – leaving blogger was the best for us too! Every stat jumped…it’s been fun! Kudos to you!!!

  4. 4 Chris August 31, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    Nice – it would be cool to have a little running commentary on how your numbers grow (or don’t) as your readership increases.

    Glad to have you linked on my site, too!

  5. 5 alex mclean September 1, 2007 at 2:19 am

    you freaking dork.

    love ya man, now I’m off to check my stats!

  6. 6 Stephen Barry September 1, 2007 at 10:55 am

    That’s pretty wild! I’ve been enjoying your blog…thanks!

  7. 7 Liz September 1, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    A very nice website and a great blog to read.
    Thanks-Liz

  8. 8 Billy Chia September 1, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    Alex,
    Yeah, for a long time I tried to deny it, but now I embrace my dorkness. Sometimes it turns out to be the “amusing” part of my site.

  9. 9 livingliturgy September 2, 2007 at 11:34 pm

    Hey man,
    So, I’m playing around with WordPress. What can you tell me about the awesomeness of it compared to say, something like Typepad. Anything?

  10. 10 Billy Chia September 3, 2007 at 8:08 am

    Lewis,
    I’ve never used Typepad. I’ll say that wordpress.com (free) has many nice clean-looking templates and if you use wordpress.org (pay) then there are millions of templates and plug-ins available to you, as well as a large community of people who use it, tweek it, and offer help.

    I know Jon Lloyd has used both Typepad and WordPress and that he currently favors Typepad. you could ask him why.

  11. 11 Lewis September 3, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    are you a .com or .org user? personal benefits?

  12. 12 Billy Chia September 4, 2007 at 12:02 am

    .com

    Only because it is free.
    If I had the money I’d host my site on it’s own server and install wordpress.org

  13. 13 worshipcity September 4, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    HAHA I agree, the best thing I could have done way back when was start doing the Worship Confessionals and get a link from Los! Hilarious!
    However, I’ve lost my camera and don’t have a camcorder so now I have to think of something new to do in the interim πŸ™‚

  14. 14 Nicole Neff September 4, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    Billy-
    I absolutely love your blog! It’s always full of fresh and interesting stuff about Christianity, infused with your personal life…and I love that! I actually signed up for a wordpress account a couple weeks ago and have been curious why you like it as opposed to blogger.com. I know a lot of people who are on blogger, so would I be able to interact with their blogs? I’m pretty new to this whole thing, so any help you could give me would be fab.

    ~Nicole

  15. 15 Billy Chia September 4, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    Conner,
    I wondered where your videos went.

    I think you have a much more prestigious link from Los. You are listed under his “In my feedreader” category.


  1. 1 better than blank » Blog Archive » What's Going on Here? Trackback on September 4, 2007 at 12:43 am
Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


