A Job Hunt Update: No Video

Here’s a post for all of you who’ve been following along and praying with me.

I’ve reached a bit of a roadblock on my path to becoming a full-time worship leader. I have received feedback from multiple churches that they are not fans of my worship leading videos.  Currently I’m toting my wedding videos as “examples” of my worship leading. These videos are great as a memento the most amazing day of my life.

They are not so hot at showcasing my talent because:

  • They are low res/highly compressed
  • They were shot from far away on an analog camera
  • My performance wasn’t stellar that day and it’s not accurate to my current skill level

So what can I do?

Well, I have a better video. It was shot a few weeks ago when Sarah and I lead worship at an Aldersgate youth event. (You can watch our confessional from that night at Alex’s site.)

The problem is I can’t edit it.

To spare you the details I’ll just say that my laptop died a few months ago and the computer I have now is not the appropriate tool for the job. Imagine trying to build a deck with a handsaw as opposed to a powered circular saw. You may eventually get the job done but it’ll take a more time and look a little less professional.

You may have noticed my lessened blogging frequency over the last 6 days as I’ve tried unsuccessfully to convert this video into a format that my compy can handle. Right now I’m taking a break to let the frustration subside before I tackle this task yet again. Don’t worry. I’ve got at least two more good posts coming today.

Does anybody have a Mac I can borrow?

9 Responses to “A Job Hunt Update: No Video”


  1. 1 mudpuppy September 6, 2007 at 11:35 am

    If you feel like making a trip up here to Michigan (home of the famous Appalacian State loss), you can borrow my laptop.

    As long as you bring some Sonic with you! 🙂

  2. 2 Billy Chia September 6, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    Russell,
    I am a huge fan of Michigan (my home state) and Sonic so I may just take up on that.

  3. 4 Chris September 6, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    Are churches asking for videos? That must be an American thing! 🙂

  4. 5 mudpuppy September 6, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    I commented w/ a link to google maps that seems to be lost in moderation…

  5. 6 alex mclean September 6, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    they shouldn’t need no stinking video! what ever happened to good ol’ holy spirit discernment – I mean don’t they cast lots or lay hands on you?

    You should wear a helmet cam next time you lead worship, that’ll land you a worship leader position guaranteed!

  6. 7 Chris Stout September 6, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Dude, I’d let you borrow my Mac anytime if were anywhere near each other! I agree with Alex though, they should have you lead worship one weekend as a “test run” instead. We’re praying for you buddy!

  7. 8 Billy Chia September 6, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    Alex,
    Ah, the helmet cam, so that’s how you scored the posh creative arts job at Life Church. (Sarah and I laughed over this for a 1/2 hour)

    Chris,
    Yeah so far all of the churches I’ve talked to do “test runs” they just want to know if I’m any good before they spend the bucks to fly me out. (most of the churches I’m looking at are not local)

    If I was a pastor, I’d ask for a video.

  8. 9 alex mclean September 7, 2007 at 12:32 am

    he said “posh”, uh huh huh huh…


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


