Funny Sarcastic Worship Leading Video

I saw this hilarious video over at Doug’s Blog:

10 Ways for Worship Leaders to Hinder the Church

(Direct YouTube video link.)

I love how Doug makes a classy move at the end and gives some encouragement.

I totally agree with the sarcasm of his statements on pushing the limits.

Taking strategic risks is one thing. You need to go out on a limb to get the fruit right? At the same time the guy who always lives on the edge eventually falls off. We need to be compassionate and loving as we encourage people forward in their spiritual walk.

Do you think Doug’s list helps or hinders the church?

8 Responses to “Funny Sarcastic Worship Leading Video”


  1. 1 bobby September 28, 2007 at 2:57 am

    Well, honestly, I aint gonna lie. The video actually kinda rubbed me the wrong way a little bit. I didn’t feel like he pulled the sarcasm off really well.

    And I’m probably reading into it and him a little bit. Just comes off kinda judgmental on a couple of those that I think are really personal preference rather than vital truth. Volume, what is “empty” of meaning and what isn’t, repetition.

    Even the limits thing. I agree there are some lines that shouldn’t be crossed, but in my own opinion, most of the churches in the U.S. are nowhere near that line. Like I said, I may be assuming some things about him. It’s just most of the people I’ve heard say that kind of thing seem to be way at the other end and actually seem kinda closed minded.

    That being said, I would agree with a couple things as well. Hope that wasn’t too harsh either. Perhaps I’ll be in the minority on this one.

  2. 2 Billy Chia September 28, 2007 at 7:35 am

    Bobby,
    I don’t think your words are too harsh. Some stuff rubbed me the wrong way too. I tried to take it all in good fun.

    I thought some of the stuff was hilarious like “put the attention on you, get a smoke machine.” That was crackin’ my family up when we watched it. At the same time my thought was, “Yeah that’s funny, but who actually does that?” I’ve never met this mythical worship leader who only focuses on himself and doesn’t care about God. I guess he’s out there somewhere.

    For me the thoughts on “pushing the limits” were a challenging in a good way to check your motives.

    I think very few of us do this stuff all the time on a regular basis, but all of us probably try to implement change from wrong motives occasionally.

    “Is it change for the sake of change? It it emotion for the sake of emotion?” These seem like valid diagnostics to use.

  3. 3 Neiswonger September 28, 2007 at 12:43 pm

    Hey,

    I really do know a worship leader that uses a smoke machine. No… really. 🙂

    Neiswonger

  4. 4 bobby September 28, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    Again, that begs the question: Is he using a “smoke machine” or a hazer to enhance the lights. And is it really that bad either way. i agree with you Billy that the important part is to check our motives. But as far as the smoke machine, Neiswonger, is it possible that it is used not to draw attention to the worship leader, but rather to create an atmosphere to help a certain segment of people encounter God?

    Too often we perceive something in a certain way and make some quick judgments about the purpose of it in the first place. I say we cause I’m guilty too.

  5. 5 Daniel September 28, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    I thought that was a great video – just an exhortation for those that are forgetting the essence of leading worship.

    http://www.apostolicmessenger.wordpress.com

  6. 6 Billy Chia September 28, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    I can’t say I’m a huge smoke machine fan although I did worship with one once. Ross Parsley, Glenn Packiam, Jon Egan, and Jared Anderson were all leading worship with Carl Albrecht on Drums. That was some awesome time in worship.

    Maybe it was the band…or maybe it was the smoke machine.

  7. 7 Sarah Chia September 29, 2007 at 6:57 am

    I think this same guy makes an interesting point in another video about confusing when we worship and when we simply like a situation.

    I thought he did a good job clarifying that it’s okay to just be geeked about a situation or a certain song, but also to realize that just because we get moved by said situation or song, that doesn’t mean we were actually worshiping.

    I’m not completely certain such a sharp line can be drawn, but anyway, I thought it was a good point.

  8. 8 Megan October 2, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    OMG this cracked me up. The thing is, those of us that find it funny and insightful are probably not the ones who need to hear it. Dude. Seriosly. A smoke machine! That is too hilarious. I want to see that.


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


