Packing Light GTD

Right now I’m at the library working on updating my resume and writing some blog posts.

Getting things done from home was becoming difficult. I kept distracting Sarah and Evie from school and they kept distracting me from my tasks. (What can I say? My girls are simply beautiful and I love spending time with them.) So today I hit up the library for some quiet time and to give the girls some space.

As I walked out the door felt this amazing sensation that comes from not needing to take anything with me. I keep everything online:

It was so freeing not to lug around a ton of junk. I used to be anchored to my laptop, but now I can work from any computer. I am almost completely severed from using a Palm or Microsoft Word. I keep a small notebook in my pocket and keep everything else online.

Now if only I could fit my camera in my pocket

10 Responses to “Packing Light GTD”


  1. 1 tam October 4, 2007 at 10:04 am

    “Now if only I could fit my camera in my pocket…”

    Hmmm…guess you and my husband might be the only ones on the planet who don’t have an iPhone….

  2. 2 Chris October 4, 2007 at 11:27 am

    Don’t forget Gmail!

  3. 3 Billy Chia October 4, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    Tam,
    It was slight but you picked up on my reference. Yes, an iPhone would contain both a camera and the ability to access online all of my other applications.

    Chris,
    Absolutley! I’m a huge Gmail fan.

  4. 5 klampert October 4, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    i dont have an I phone…and im coping…at least my therapist says so

  5. 6 Chris October 4, 2007 at 6:26 pm

    I checked out Vitalist today – how do I even start?? Do I need to read the whole GTD book to understand the method?

  6. 7 tam October 4, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    Jon, is that you being sarcastic?

    Klampert, but the therapist has an iPhone…

  7. 8 JVP October 5, 2007 at 8:27 am

    Billy, are you a GTD fan? I read the book a few months ago, and I love the ideas, although I haven’t implemented it 100% yet.

  8. 9 Billy Chia October 5, 2007 at 8:45 am

    Chris,
    I have not read that book, but I have implemented a lot of the GTD strategy into my task/time management. Try googling “GTD Summary” or “GTD overview” there are tons of websites and entire blogs dedicated to it.

    The big GTD rule I use now is “context.” I ask, “What can I get done right now with the tools I have available, in the environment I am in, at the energy level that I have?” I also try to batch tasks that require the same context to be more efficient.

    JVP,
    Yeah I’m a big fan. I have the book on my “to read” list.


  1. 1 Classy Church « Inept as Icing Trackback on October 4, 2007 at 8:15 pm
Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


