The Best Evansville Dentist

I had a wisdom tooth pulled today.

To start everything out Dr. Charles Kendall, my dentist, gave me a numbing agent. While we were waiting for it to kick it he wrote me a prescription for Loritab (hydrocodone) saying, “You may or may not need this, you can play it by ear depending on how much it hurts.”

As he began the procedure he informed me that some teeth are easier to extract than others depending on the curvature of the root. Apparently my roots are as twisted as my sense of humor. When he busted out the drill I knew I was giving him a hard time.

He worked diligently and with precision. After removing the final piece a look of accomplishment came over his face like he’d just triumphed over an extreme challenge.

He then frowned sympathetically and advised me, “You’ll definitely want to pick up that pain medication.”

My dentist is a super awesome guy who goes to my church. Knowing my current job situation he gave me a deal. My pastor teaches us to pray, “Thank you God for [some hardship in our lives] because it means [some other blessing].”

Today my prayer is, “Thank you God for this excruciating pain becuase it means I was privileged to be able to go to such a professional like Dr. Kendall.”

15 Responses to “The Best Evansville Dentist”


  1. 1 Stephen October 16, 2007 at 1:44 pm

    I had my wisdom teeth taken out a few years back. The dentist’s name was Dr. Grippo. I kid you not.

  2. 2 Miguel October 16, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    I hope you feel better!!!

  3. 3 brunettekoala October 16, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    Wow. My prayers for my wisdom teeth issues have been more like

    ‘Why oh why God, did you create wisdom teeth?!?!’

  4. 4 worshipcity October 16, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    I totally am glad they knocked my bumm out and I was unconscious for mine! Sorry your hurting though man.

  5. 5 Billy Chia October 17, 2007 at 7:05 am

    Oh, the pulling didn’t hurt at all. For the first 3 hours I was numbed up, droppy-lipped and feeling fine. Then the torrent of pain kicked it. It’s more mild today.

    Dr. Grippo. lol.

  6. 6 bobby October 17, 2007 at 9:58 am

    I’m going to get a filling in one of mine today.

    Had a few pulled several years back and it was the most excruciating experience of my life! I don’t think I was numb and the person who took me could hear me screaming in the lobby. And my dentist kinda resembled Tom Arnold. Glad your experience was better.

  7. 7 Heidi October 17, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    Tomorrow Billy, I Get 9 more teeth pull!! I have had a total of 23 now since last month. Tomorrow is the big day!!! I get a FULL dentures tomorrow..

    I blogged on it today!!

    I didn’t get any drugs, because they were afraid I would eat. I’ve been on liquids and soft solids for 3 weeks.

  8. 8 Anne Jackson October 18, 2007 at 10:02 am

    I had to have mine surgically removed…fully under. Hammers, bits, drills…I was fine two weeks later…they were impacted, infected, and backwards. I kid you not. I waited about 8 years too late…

  9. 9 Billy Chia October 18, 2007 at 10:17 am

    Bobby,
    Yeah my dentist is awesome, he even called me the next day just to see how I was doing.

    Heidi and Anne,
    Wow, you girls are hardcore. Here I am whining about one tooth!

  10. 10 Chris Stout October 20, 2007 at 9:05 am

    I need to go to the dentist. I hate the dentist. My teeth really hurt though. Really really hurt. Can’t stand it anymore. 😦 Thank for reminding me.

  11. 11 brunettekoala October 20, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Me too Chris. I’m going to be spending 100s of £s on dental care over the next few months…not looking forward to it…

  12. 12 blu October 21, 2007 at 11:24 am

    I only had two wisdom teeth, but they were impacted
    yay for drilling through Jolyn’s jaw to remove her teeth
    then I refused to take their medication
    just to prove how ba I am : P
    don’t you feel better now that it’s gone though?

  13. 13 Billy Chia October 21, 2007 at 10:01 pm

    blu,
    Yeah, I’m starting to feel better now that it’s gone. If only I could open my mouth all the way again. It feels like I’m opening my mouth really wide, but in reality my swollen jaw only opens a small crack and I can’t fit food into my mouth.

  14. 14 Al & Wilma November 2, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    Do pray that your tooth is not giving you any more pain. Can you sing yet? Your poor Dad had some teeth out and a partial put in. He was very brave and hardly mentioned it, But WISDOM ONES make you suffer Do pray you are feeling better now Love mom

  15. 15 Billy Chia November 2, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    Yeah, everything is pretty copacetic now. They took good care of me. No problems singing 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


