Goodbye Training Wheels!

All Dads suffer from the common lower-back pain of “stooping down to hold your child’s bike seat so they don’t fall over while they are learning to ride” -itis. After many months of this ailment my daughter took her first bike ride with out Dad’s help today:

We promised her that she could have a girly basket for her bike when she learned to ride it, so we did an awards ceremony for the bike-riding princess with all her royal subjects around as she was awarded her shiny basket of accomplishment:

Some pics of the basket on the bike:

IMG_4923

IMG_4928

IMG_4925IMG_4922IMG_4915

I’m crazy proud of my girl.

12 Responses to “Goodbye Training Wheels!”


  1. 1 nicoleneff October 19, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    You always have the most amazing pictures – vivid colors, great clarity! What kind of camera do you have?

  2. 2 Billy Chia October 19, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    Nicole,
    Thanks!
    I use a Canon A610. There’s a lot that I love about it but the indoor white balance is not great.

    I tell ya the secret is the post-editing. All of these photos were edited using Google Picasa which is free and great for quick and dirty photo editing.

  3. 3 Miguel Carpizo October 19, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    Billy,

    You made me cry when I watched your daughter dress as a princess and with the music. You are an excellent daddy and I know she probably feel so loved by you. Thank you for sharing your daily life with the us!!!!

  4. 4 nicoleneff October 19, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    I also have a Canon, but the SD1000. It’s pocket-sized, but I’ve been so impressed with what it can do. I’d love to just take a weekend and take a ton of pictures.

    And as far as Google Picasa, I don’t know that my work would enjoy me putting another program on the computer. It looks really cool, though! Maybe one day we’ll have Internet access at home…

  5. 5 tam October 19, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    It’s really too bad the poor girl is treated so poorly 😉

    That is just the sweetest thing I have ever seen!

  6. 6 Sarah Chia October 19, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    Yeah, Miguel…you’re right.

    Billy is an amazing dad.

  7. 7 fmckinnon October 19, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    I’m jealous … I’ve got 4 to go.

  8. 8 brunettekoala October 19, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    Yay for Eve going from 4 to 2 wheels!

    Loving the Star Wars Princess ceremony…I can already see into the future of her cringing when you show her this video when she’s 15/16. Hee hee hee.

    I would have been very jealous of the Care bear and the basket…

    Every blessing to you guys…!

  9. 9 Katie October 19, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Big Congrats and hugs to Eve on her big success. Apparently she doesn’t take after her aunt and her bike riding skills. I wish I could see her live and in person. Miss you guys!!

  10. 10 Erin October 21, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    🙂 🙂 I thoroughly enjoyed that!.. We’re in the midst of learning as well with my 6 year old. She’s going to love this… way to fun!!

  11. 11 Al Sr. October 23, 2007 at 11:45 am

    We join the cazy proud of our girl club, great pics


  1. 1 The Beginings of a Rockstar « Billy Chia Trackback on October 21, 2007 at 9:51 pm
Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


