The Beginings of a Rockstar

IMG_4966I promised Eve-Marie, my 7-year-old, that I’d start to teach her guitar when she finished her level 1 piano books. The other day she finished one of her books and Sarah bought the next level of piano books for her. So as a reward for learning to ride a bike I busted out my SG and taught Evie how to play Holy is the Lord. It was a glorious moment for me. I’ve given guitar lessons to more kids than I can count and always dreamed of the day I’d teach my own children.

Well it turned out I goofed. Apparently Evie didn’t finish her level 1 piano books, the book she finished is a pre-level book. So the level 1 books are really called “primers” and the level 2 books are called “level 1.” Sound confusing? Alright, it’s not just me then.

Sarah and I both want Evie to stay serious about piano so yesterday I told her that I would give her a guitar lesson only after she’d practiced the piano that day. Most days piano practicing is met with groans and whining but today Evie volunteered to practice with out coaxing. She then reminded me, “As you know, I practiced my piano today and you said you’d give me a guitar lesson when I did.”

At my house getting to practice guitar is a reward for practicing the piano. How do ya like that?

20 Responses to “The Beginings of a Rockstar”


  1. 1 Jeff M. Miller October 21, 2007 at 9:59 pm

    Yeah, that whole “Level” nomenclature is silly. My wife teaches piano and she things the whole system needs to be redone. She keeps saying she’s going to write her own curriculum/method some day. Maybe I can talk her into it…

  2. 2 Billy Chia October 21, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    Jeff,
    Yeah despite the confusing titles I’m a huge fan of the piano books we used. They do a great job of breaking down the concepts.

  3. 3 klampert October 21, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    nice…very cool she is interested…

    even cooler…nice SG!

  4. 4 Sarah Chia October 22, 2007 at 8:05 am

    Uh….ya know…she doesn’t always groan about practicing the piano. She actually likes playing the piano quite a bit.

    Besides you left out the part where she said, “Ugh…I hate this D chord!”

  5. 5 klampert October 22, 2007 at 9:21 am

    its the start of the end…

    ah promised Eve-Marie, mah 7-year-old, thet I’d start t’larn her git-fiddle when she finished her level 1 piano books. T’other day she finished one of her books an’ Sareeh bought th’ next level of piano books fo’ her. So as a reward fo’ larnin’ t’ride a bike ah bested out mah SG an’ taught Evie how t’play Holy is th’ Lo’d. It was a glo’ious moment fo’ me. I’ve given git-fiddle lessons t’mo’e kids than ah can count an’ allus dreamed of th’ day I’d larn mah own chillun.

    Wal it turned out ah goofed, cuss it all t’ tarnation. Apparently Evie didn’t finish her level 1 piano books, th’ book she finished is a pre-level book. Shet mah mouth! So th’ level 1 books is pow’ful called “primers” an’ th’ level 2 books is called “level 1.” Soun’ cornfusin’? Alright, it’s not jest me then, as enny fool kin plainly see.

    Sareeh an’ ah both be hankerin’ Evie t’stay serious about piano so yessuhterday ah told her thet ah w’d give her a git-fiddle lesson only af’er she’d prackiced th’ piano thet day. Most days piano prackicin’ is met wif groans an’ whinin’ but today Evie volunteered t’prackice wif out coaxin’. She then reminded me, “As yo’ know, ah prackiced mah piano today an’ yo’ said yo’’d gimme a git-fiddle lesson when ah did, cuss it all t’ tarnation.”

    At mah house gittin’ t’prackice git-fiddle is a reward fo’ prackicin’ th’ piano. How does ya like thet?

  6. 6 Rich Kirkpatrick October 22, 2007 at 10:11 am

    Well, my girl just bought her own SG. Now, I am teaching her piano. But, practicing guitar as a reward sounds pretty normal to me.;-)

  7. 7 Billy Chia October 22, 2007 at 10:25 am

    Sarah,
    Yes, you are quite right.

    Joel,
    uh…I’m speechless

    Rich,
    Yeah I thought your daughter’s choice of guitars was excellent. Wow, that will be a pretty cool day as well when Eve-Marie buys her own guitar.

  8. 8 alex mclean October 22, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    how old is Eve? Miles just turned 5 and I want to get him started on piano asap…

  9. 9 Billy Chia October 22, 2007 at 3:06 pm

    Alex,
    Eve is 7, we’ve been doing piano a little over a year. But Yeah, I’d hook Miles up if he’s into it.

  10. 10 Billy Chia October 22, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    Alex, we use Bastien books. They have levels for 5 year olds. It breaks things down to a real little kid level. Good stuff.

  11. 11 Chris Stout October 22, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    Will you teach me to play the guitar? Please???? Pretty Please? With Cherries on top? PLEASE!?!?!?!?!?!? Ha ha…

  12. 12 betty October 24, 2007 at 5:52 am

    I love the picture of her with the guitar! My daughter is seven and wants to take piano lessons. I’ve been stalling because I took lessons very early and also grew bored early. I’m thinking of starting her soon though and then moving her to another instrument.

  13. 13 Terry Foester October 24, 2007 at 7:26 am

    that is so great, i love to see and hear this news. children are the ones that can really praise God.

  14. 14 Carlos October 29, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    Hola, buen blog

  15. 15 verticalx October 30, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Great little anecdote. =)
    As a guitar player I can’t wait to teach my own children (assuming I’ll have) to play. What an amazing thing it would be if they grew interested in music!

  16. 16 lolalolo November 20, 2007 at 3:25 am

    wow! that is amazing! my first guitar lesson was Lord Reign in me and it didnt worked well…hahahaha guess i was a bad student or maybe i just dont have the talent…

  17. 17 Dan Browne November 21, 2007 at 12:40 am

    Man… I would trade 4 semesters of piano for guitar pretty quick.

    I can’t imagine telling one of my profs. that I would practice piano only if I was allowed to play my sax as well.

    I hope she sticks to it!

  18. 18 packphour December 8, 2007 at 6:59 pm

    Just be happy she wants to play either of those instruments. Great photo too.

  19. 19 Billy Chia December 9, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    Thanks for the compliment 🙂
    we are very proud and happy with our daughter. She is amazing.

  20. 20 pinkngreen77 December 9, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    ckool


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


