Pre – Worship Confessional | 10.29.07

Set List for Christian Fellowship Church this weekend:

  • Praise to the Lord, The Almighty – Arr. Nathan and Christy Nockels
  • My Redeemer Lives – Reuben Morgan
  • How Great is Our God – Chris Tomlin, Jesse Reeves, Ed Cash
  • Everlasting God – Brenton Brown
  • Shine – Matt Redman
19 Responses to “Pre – Worship Confessional | 10.29.07”


  1. 1 blueraindrop October 29, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    and if ya do forget, just get the congregation to sing louder. 🙂

    (my fav new mp3 lately is smitty at flavofest that various places have posted…. gotta love how he manages with forgetting all of i am free except the chorus and like 2 lines… )

  2. 2 Billy Chia October 29, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    lol – yeah the singers have a “cheat screen” that shows the lyrics that are up on the screen so they never have music stands. I always think it’s classy when a band doesn’t have music stands. Likewise it’s pretty lame when the whole band has their nose buried int he music stand for the whole song.

  3. 3 brunettekoala October 30, 2007 at 8:44 am

    Hope it went well. As a backing vocalist, I generally give up my music chord sheets for the musicians, and try memorise songs so I can listen into where the music leader is going, where the Spirit is taking us, and just immerse myself in the music and using it to sing prayers and praise to God!

    In my old church we were encouraged (both singers and musicians) to memorise songs – not only so we could concentrate on unity with in the band, worshipping etc. but also if we knew songs off by heart, it meant there was more room for spontaneity as and when required/appropriate.

    It’s been really irritating me music leaders insisting that I must have sheet music every service I’m singing in at my new church! I do like have a sheet of words for songs that I don’t know as well (or very wordy hymns) as a back up – just in case, because it’s distracting for the congregation if you are singing the wrong words.

  4. 4 jordan fowler October 30, 2007 at 8:52 am

    C’mon man don’t capo, only hacks like me capo. You are a man. Barre Chord that sucker in F. HA!

  5. 5 Billy Chia October 30, 2007 at 10:11 am

    Laura Anne,
    Yeah, everyone runs a band differently.

    My favorite leaders (in worship or otherwise) are the ones who are open to listen to different streams to thought. My worship pastor, Sam, very much has an open door policy and even solicits the views of others.

    I find it respectful to my leaders to share my ideas privately, not during rehearsal as that puts them on the spot. Ultimately when I’m following others they will do things that I wouldn’t do. (Like requiring music stands.)

    Part of the joy of following for me is a type of dieing to self in order to support my leader and buy into what they are doing. I try to model the type of followship I expect of others when I’m leading. When I’ve served on church staffs before I always expected my volunteer staff to follow me in the same way I followed my senior pastor.

    As for wordy hymn lyrics I’m hoping to memorize Praise to the Lord – we’ll see how it goes.

    Jordan,
    lol – I’m just trying to be more like you man!

    But seriously this one’s giving me a bit a trouble. It was written in Ab (key of G capo 1) – which is too high to sing – so we dropped it to F – which makes finding good sounding guitar chords tough. The barre just doesn’t sound good, especially since that’s what the electric is already doing and I don’t want to muddy up the sound. I might Capo 3 and play it in D.

  6. 6 Steve October 30, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    Hey man, great goal to strive for. Hope your able to pull it off. Will you have your music, just in case? Oh by the way, in my mind, capos rule!!

  7. 7 worshipcity October 30, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    Hey man, great music! How’d it go?!?!

  8. 8 Billy Chia October 30, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Steve,
    Capos do rule! My goal would be to feel so ridiculously confident I would not need my music at all. We’ll see how good I do.

    Conner,
    This is my pre-fessional. I’ll post the actual confessional on Sunday or Monday.

  9. 9 Chris October 30, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Dude – Your commitment to improving your craft is super inspiring. You know that I wish I had a job to pull out of my hat and drop in your lap but I hope your church knows the time and energy you are placing in to serving the congregation to the best of your ability! Don’t think of it as just getting better so that you can get a job – think of it as getting better to better serve your congregation. Your attitude through this whole thing is really evident and your desire to just get better is awesome.

  10. 10 Miguel Carpizo October 30, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    It is cool to memorize the songs…..what about when the worship is in Spanish and English?…..and when the English speaker wants to sing in Spanish and the Spanish speakers wants to sing in English, then memorizing becomes a struggle, we become messy and we must have stands. It all depends on what side we are looking at the coin….don’t you think so?….God moves with or without, on tune or out of tune, with stands or without them. When we had a worship band for the first time, I tried to encourage people to memorize the songs, but when do it in Spanish and English, didn’t work. So I just gave up! and I was able to relax…..

  11. 11 JVP October 30, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    Re: memorization. I have also discussed that with Sam. I agree that it really frees you up to be in the moment and to be aware of everything else that is going on around you when you are playing.

    Re: capos. When I first started playing the guitar, I thought of a capo simply as something that helped me play in difficult keys, or to transpose a song. And I admit, I still use my capo for those reasons. However, my favorite way to use a capo these days is for alternate voicing. I think I’ve seen you discuss that on this blog at times.

    This is something that a piano player doesn’t get, because transposing on a piano won’t change the sound of the chords. But just try playing “God of Wonders” on the guitar in the key of A with no capo and you will hear the difference. Are the chords easy enough to play? Sure. Does it sound like “God of Wonders”? No way. Capo on 2 and play in the key of G, and now you’ve got “God of Wonders”.

    So, used properly, a capo doesn’t have to be a “crutch”, but it can actually widen the artistic palette of a worship guitar player.

  12. 12 JVP October 30, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    One other thing regarding capos that I thought was funny: I saw Steven Curtis Chapman playing his new song “With One Voice” on worshiptogether.com’s “New Song Cafe” last week (can’t find a link to the full video now). I think he had his guitar tuned down a half step, but then he was capoed on the second fret. Not sure what the difference would be between that and a simple “capo 1”. Oh well, he’s Steven Curtis Chapman, I’m sure he had a reason 🙂

  13. 13 Billy Chia October 31, 2007 at 10:49 am

    Chris,
    Right on – it’s about service. The reason I volunteer at my church right now is becuase I love the community and I want to invest with my gifts. It’s actually “easy” to be committed at my church because my worship pastor sets the bar for quality so high and everyone else on the team is so dedicated. Excellence becomes easier when we doing excellence together.

    Miguel,
    Yes, one of my struggles with memorization is when elements of the song (like the language it’s sung in!) change. I’ve had some of these songs memorized before but now we’re doing it differently. Changing things up once in a while is good and it’s worth the extra effort to keep things fresh.

    Jonathon,
    Totally agree – Capos are all about alternate voices and coming up with the best guitar key for a song regardless of how easy it is. Especially with two guitars and two keyboards it important to add something different to the mix and not simply muddy it up.

  14. 14 Miguel Carpizo October 31, 2007 at 11:41 am

    Billy,

    I cannot make an English speaker sing in English and and Spanish speaker sing in Spanish. We are bilingual and people like to sing each other languages even if the pronunciation is not good. But I yearn for the time we can flow in worship and I truly believe is because we don’t have a leader with enough knowledge to help us out. I don’t play an instrument but I am one of the singers, do you think I can take the leading even though I don’t know anything about music?

  15. 15 Sarah Chia October 31, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    Jonathon,

    You are an awesome guitar player, and I probably don’t understand chord voicings on the guitar as much as you. I just like to fool around on one, and I really can’t play much.

    But piano players do understand chord voicing stuff, too, since we have to change up our inversions to get the sound we want, too. True, the key doesn’t always have anything to do with it, but we can’t just play straight root positions all the time or it sounds lame.

    We also have to listen to how the progression of the chords up (or down) the piano fits with the melody of a song, so we piano players have to make choices about voicings the same way a guitar player does.

  16. 16 JVP October 31, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Sarah,

    I hope I didn’t insult the piano players out there! And you are totally right. I think what I meant to say was something like this:

    “changing the key of a song is possible on a keyboard instrument without drastically altering the overall sound, so piano playing worship leaders sometimes forget the impact that a different (especially a lower) key will have when the song is played on the guitar”

    A classic example of this is the song “I Will Boast” by Paul Baloche. It sounds very cool in the key of D and has a great guitar lead riff in the intro. However, the key of D is a little high for the CFC congregation, so Sam often does it in C. It’s very difficult to get that same guitar part to sound good in C. If that part were on a piano, it could be lowered while retaining the same voicing.

  17. 17 Peter Park October 31, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    What a great thought. I remember having memorized so many songs in college, but now I struggle with it. Thanks for paving for the way. I want to memorize the music for this weekend. Thanks so much.

  18. 18 Billy Chia October 31, 2007 at 10:01 pm

    Miguel,
    Yes, I believe where there is need and a passion that God will equip those are called. As long as you have a desire to learn God will always grow you. He grows me everyday.

    Sarah,
    You are quite good at guitar. I’d probably say that you used to be better at guitar than I was a piano – but ever since you taught me how to play chord inversions now I think I’m as good at the piano as you are a guitar 🙂

    Johnathon,
    Ack! D to C, yes that is the worst.

    Peter,
    Sweet. I’d love to hear about how your weekend goes with memorized music.


  1. 1   My favourite thing about worship confessionals! — Chris From Canada Trackback on October 30, 2007 at 8:44 pm
Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


