My New Church

This past Sunday I was announced as the new Worship Arts Pastor at Chase Valley Church in Huntsville, AL!

I’m beyond excited about this new position. Months ago when Sarah when I first started praying over what Church we’d go to to lead worship our biggest concern was not simply finding another place to work but truly finding a community that God was calling us to serve in. Chase Valley is a place where my unique talents, gifts and experiences can really be used for God’s glory.

After countless interviews over the past few months I hadn’t felt a real sense of calling. I drove down to Huntsville for the interview with a great deal of trepidation and not much hopefulness for anything different. Man, was I completely surprised and blown out of the water. Everything I experienced said, “Billy this is where you and your family belong.” I also had this amazing sense that those on the interview team were Godly people committed to prayer. I drove home with an great deal of peace knowing that whoever they chose for the role would be right knowing that they had sought God in fervent prayer. When they offered me the job, Sarah and I likewise received an immediate affirmation. It was still difficult as we had to turn down some amazing opportunities to get to this place. I simply believe this is exactly where God wants me.

We visited Huntsville for the last 4 days. I have loved everything about Chase so far. My Pastors rock and the people are amazing. I have already met tons of people who have deep faith and passion for God’s kingdom. The love that’s been lavished on me and my family has been unreal. I was blessed enough to be able to get on stage to play guitar yesterday. It was an absolute privilege. If everything falls into place my goal is to lead my first worship service on the 13th.

Of course like any church there’s tons of baggage. (CVC doesn’t really have any more baggage than your average church, simply a different kind. If you want to be in church without the baggage your probably in the wrong line of work.) For me it wasn’t an issue of finding a church with no problems (such a place does not exist) but rather finding one who’s problems I could specifically deal with. (Perhaps like finding a spouse?)

At CVC right now there’s been a lot of hurt and a lot of transition. Their Senior pastor of 16 years took a call to another church in the last year and then of course the old Worship Pastor is currently in the process of planting a church. Both of these are super exciting things that God is doing in these people’s lives. Unfortunately it’s left some turmoil within the community. (Imagine if your Senior Pastor and Worship Pastor left your church within 6 months of each other.)

For me this is great news.

One, because Fred and Dorothy Ann, the new Senior Pastors are amazing. They are veterans in ministry with a grounded faith and ridiculously enormous hearts. The know how to love people the way I can only hope to. I’ve already felt a deep sense of team and I can’t wait to start working with them more.

And two, becuase God is moving as Chase Valley Church in a powerful way. Everyone’s reaction to me coming on staff has been humbling. When I was introduced on Sunday several people actually stood as they clapped. I believe they are as excited to have me as come on board as I am. I believe what God is doing right now within the community at CVC, including bring me on staff, is just the beginning. As I talked to different key leaders with in the community I felt a deep sense of hunger for God’s spirit and expectancy. There was a widespread earnestness and passion that I’ve not seen in any church I’ve ever been a part of. I can’t wait to move down to Huntsville and be with these people more.

Thank you to everyone who’s been praying that I find the right church. I have.

Now please pray for our house to sell and a smooth transition to Huntsville.

Look for some new worship confessionals coming soon.

25 Responses to “My New Church”


  1. 1 Stephen Barry December 31, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    Congrats man! You must be stoked 🙂

  2. 2 inWorship December 31, 2007 at 10:34 pm

    This is awesome Billy. God is faithful in His time. Congrats! I am anxious to hear of all the things that will be going on.

  3. 3 tam December 31, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    I am so stoked for you Billy and Sarah!!! I sometimes secretly wish we would be called on to somewhere else…not for bad reasons, just for the experience…it’s weird. So I will live vicariously through you!

    Congrats!

    And Happy New Year! What a great way to begin it!

  4. 4 klampert December 31, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    fantastic man…congrats…God is good

  5. 5 mjdaniel January 1, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Congratulations! Double-check your link…should be .org! Looks like your journey is about to get exciting…soak in every minute of it, learn everything you can, and be a empty vessel so God can flow THROUGH you!

    mjd

  6. 6 Billy Chia January 1, 2008 at 9:44 am

    Thanx guys!

    Tam,
    I feel ya on new experiences. One of the advantages I have going into this role is that I’ve played in on about 7 different worship teams all around the country. I’ve seen a lot of different ways to run a worship ministry as I’ve served under different worship pastors.

    There are also advantages to being one place for a long time. My hope is to be a Chase Valley for a long, long time.

    My blog should be taking a step up now that I’ll have some more to blog about in the area of worship arts.

  7. 7 Mark January 1, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Awesome, Billy. Congratulations. Very excited for you.

    You will help them to heal as you get to know them, listen carefully to their stores, and guide them to the throne of grace.

    Psalm 20!

  8. 8 Russ January 1, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Congrats!! We went through the same experience almost 2 years ago! It’s amazing how God lines things up!

    Huntsville, eh? I have family in that general area…Elkmont, Athens, Huntsville…

    Hope your new year is wonderful!! Congrats again!

    Russ

  9. 9 Chris January 1, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Awesome. Thanks again for letting us come alongside you guys throughout this experience. Excited for you!

  10. 10 Amanda January 1, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Congrats & happy new year! What a great start to the year for you! Praise God! 🙂

  11. 11 bylerbunch January 1, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Okay, I don’t know you personally, but I’ve been following your blog (because my husband is currently being called into ministry as a worship leader and is praying about a church) and I was just SO EXCITED for you when I read you now have a church!!!! Praise God!! Your name is familiar to my husband because I read him stuff from your blog all the time, so I said “Honey, Billy found his church!” He is pumped for you, too! God bless you on your journey.

    Beth

  12. 12 worshipcity January 1, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Again, kudos and congrats man! I’m very excited for you and your family!

  13. 14 mudpuppy January 2, 2008 at 7:46 am

    Sweetness!

    Watch out Alabama!!

  14. 15 Greg Allen January 2, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Congratulations!

    And I will definitely look forward to those worship confessionals!

  15. 16 JVP January 2, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    Congrats, Billy! That’s very exciting to hear.

  16. 18 Sarah Chia January 2, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    I’m proud of you, kiddo.

  17. 19 alex mclean January 2, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Billy – I’m so stoked for you and your family! Exciting times – can’t wait to hear how you grow and how God uses your family to further his Kingdom.

  18. 20 len20 January 3, 2008 at 11:34 am

    Congrats. There’s nothing like getting a job you really want.

  19. 21 Debbie DeRubeis January 9, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Hi Billy, Sarah, and girls,
    I have been at CVC for ten years now, and have been praying through this difficult season we have been going through. I have recently felt priveledged to be one of the ones called to stay and fight for God’s plans and purposes for Chase Valley. Well my best friend left a message last night to check out your website, and see God’s goodness. It is always amazing to see how incredible God is to work on so many levels. Well I feel like I know you already, and am very excited for the future. I recently went back to where I attended college 20 years ago, and soo much had changed, and the things that hadn’t needed to be renovated or torn down, so I am super excited for the Lord’s new movement. Also, the website is great, I was turned onto alot of new info and stuff. May your house sell swiftly, and may you continue to feel welcomed and loved in Huntsville. Debbie D.

  20. 22 Ryan January 23, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Hey there, and congrats on your new position!

    I saw your comment about music theory stuff on Chris’s blog and thought I’d check yours out. Good stuff here!

  21. 23 Daniel Tomlinson January 26, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Billy,

    I was encouraged to read this blog. Thank you for making yourself available to what God is doing in Alabama. He is so good, and all I can do is lift my arms in praise and sigh as the Creator of the Universe continues to make His presence known.

    Your brother,
    Daniel


  1. 1   What do you wish you had done? — Chris From Canada Trackback on January 3, 2008 at 7:37 am
  2. 2 Congratulations « My World Trackback on January 9, 2008 at 4:43 pm
Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


