Moving Day

Today I’m driving the down to Huntsville to move in a studio apartment I’ll be renting until the house sells. The minivan is stuffed full like a fat guy at an all-you-can-eat buffet.

Despite the massive size of the precarious load I’m hauling down I actually feel pretty good the amount of stuff we’ve gotten rid of as a family. Over the last few weeks each garbage day has seen a sizable increase in quantity. Our two meager trash cans, unable to contain the volume, stand as lone towers among a sprawling trashbag city that populates the curb each Monday.

All the good stuff went to Goodwill. In the time it took me to unload 7 other cars had pulled up, dropped thier donations, and departed.

So as pudgy as my van may be, it still feels slim to me.

The Chia family goal is to continue to live on less, hoard less, and live simply. Selling the house has just been a nice catalyst to propel us forward.

I’m going to miss my girls like crazy.

Torn emotions doesn’t begin to describe it.

In regards to starting at Chase Valley I’m crazy excited. Tomorrow, my first day in the office (by my choice) is also my birthday. For a guy who’s been tent-making for too long I couldn’t think of a better present than to be officially back in a church office.

As for missing my girls I can’t even blog about it and I’m thankful that 5 hours is a drivable distance.

2 Responses to “Moving Day”


  1. 1 brunettekoala January 7, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Wow. I’ve been without internet access for ages, so just catching up with the blogs!

    Congrats on the new job, really happy and so so pleased that prayers have been answered.

    As for the realisation of the amount of junk hoarded and encouragement to live more simply – I’m familiar with this experience after 2007’s constant packing and re-packing of boxes.

    Praying for the Chia family, I hope that house gets sold sooner rather than later so you’ll be under one roof again!

  2. 2 Al Sr. January 7, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Billy, the lord loves you & so do we, you are the man for the job!!!!our blessings and prayers are with you, we could not be any more proud of you


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


