Worship Text-fessional 01.27.2008

No vid today, maybe next week.

The Set List for Chase Valley Church January 27, 2008:

  • Not to Us – Chris Tomlin
  • Shout to the North – Martin Smith
  • O Praise Him – David Crowder
  • By His Wounds – Glory Revealed
  • Nothing but the Blood of Jesus (Three Verses worth, not just the first line.)
  • How Great is Our God – Chris Tomlin

Highlights/Lowlights

  • Jesse, one of our high school students had his first Sunday on stage today playing drums. He did a phenomenal job.
  • O Praise Him – This song just builds and builds
  • Nothing but the blood – we sung the 3rd verse twice this was so good
  • My voice – I woke up an early to run vocal exercises before the service…it didn’t help. I can sing wonderfully on pitch in evening when I’ve been using my voice all day. I’m still have trouble in the morning. Fred thinks he might know a vocal coach who can help me out.
  • I totally botched the solo on By His Wounds. I’m always trying to push myself to grow in my gifts. Maybe trying to play a mandelin solo on acoustic guitar is just a little too far of a push.
  • Dorothy Ann’s sermon was really good. The last 10 minutes hit me like a tons of bricks. I couldn’t write fast enough to take all the notes down.
11 Responses to “Worship Text-fessional 01.27.2008”


  1. 1 James January 27, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    I know what you mean about the voice in the morning. I’m normally pretty good to go by the time we’re done with soundcheck, but the air conditioning vents are right behind the stage and the cold air just undoes all the warming up. I’ve found a mug of warm honey & lemon tea ten minutes or so before service gets things loose and ready again.

    Good set! Looks like the songs would flow together quite well.

  2. 2 Sarah Chia January 27, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    I can’t wait till I’m there to worship with you.

  3. 3 Jim Chase January 27, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    Billy,

    Regrets that I missed it this morning – spent the weekend with about 100 7,8,9-year old Cub Scouts. We’re blessed to have you at Chase Valley – and the Lord is obviously already using you!

    And Sarah, we can’t wait for you and your delightful daughters to join us here too! You are in our prayers! Praying for a buyer!

    Blessings! – Jim & Janet

  4. 4 Bridget January 28, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    morning voice: ditto. I sing in the car on the way over and in the shower.

    Mandolin. Trying to teach myself to play.

    Great insight.

    bridget

  5. 5 Kristin January 28, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    I thought the guitar solo was pretty good myself.

    I agree that the honey and lemon water is a great voice-soother. Be careful to not put really COLD water on the vocal chords in the morning either (or milk).

    While I was a music major I didn’t get much good advice that I can recall, but a few bits I did cling to:

    1) 9x out of 10 nobody knows you messed up but you.
    NEVER point it out to them.
    2) If you’re going to mess up, mess up BIG! If the
    voice is going to break anyway you might as well be
    at full voice when it does. 🙂
    3) Confidence is catching. When you start getting
    nervous about a note that you’re scared you’ll miss
    your breathing will become more shallow (fight or
    flight, blood rushes to extremities), which
    naturally results in you actually missing the note
    b/c your diaphram wasn’t doing what it was supposed
    to do. Telling yourself that if you blow it you’re
    at least going to blow it big helps me a lot. 🙂

    You’re doing well. You’re a great leader and it shows. 🙂 Kristin

  6. 6 tam January 28, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    Billy, I’m sure you’re your own toughest critic. We all are! Clearly by the comments from those who were there – they are very happy and blessed by you… God has equipped you with everything you need!

    Kristin, Great Tips! I’m copying those down for me and the team. Thanks!

  7. 7 Peter Park January 28, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    It’s awesome to hear that you are trying to push yourself. I admire the fact that you are in pursuit of God’s heart. Keep praising.

  8. 8 Billy Chia January 28, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    James,
    Thanx for the advice I’ll have to try it out.

    Kristin,
    Thanx 🙂
    Right on with the “don’t let people know you messed up.” Actually someone complimented the solo today and I was like, “Thanx I worked really hard on it.”

    For the web of course we go confessional style and I do “confess” the “sins” of the week – lol. Part of the idea is to be transparent to the rest of the worship community that we’re all human and all make mistakes. Part of the idea is simply a log for me to track my own progress.

    I love the “blow it big” concept. Now when I start pitching that to the worship team and pawning it off as my own idea you can be like, “No way, Billy totally stole that from me” and point to this post 🙂

    Tam,
    Right on, we are our own worst critics. Yeah I do have a rockin’ church.

  9. 9 Kristin January 29, 2008 at 6:46 am

    I gotcha. 🙂 I meant letting people know “live”. haha. I have to tell my public speaking students that (dont let anybody know) about a million times, so I thought I’d throw it in there.

    The idea is all yours. 🙂 I probably stole it from the mean ole voice teacher anyway. haha

  10. 10 Russ January 29, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Try gargling 3 spoons of sugar in chocolate milk mixed with coke…

    hehe, just kidding.

    Great setlist!


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


