Josh Wilson – Awesome Acoustic

Josh Wilson has got impressive chops on the acoustic guitar. Armed with a Boss RC-20XL loop station, DD-20 Giga Delay and a Taylor he brought and assault of rhythmic harmony and catchy vocal hooks to Shea’s Express in Huntsville tonight. The groove between Josh’s flying fingers layered against his tap-dancing feet on the pedal board was a sight to behold. Imagine Dave Matthews meets Sammy Davis Jr. and you know what I’m talking about.

(btw – If Renown keeps bringing in the stellar Nashville musicians I might have to make this a weekly post.)

The crowd was into it – clapping their hands and whistling along to the likes of Stevie Wonder covers and Josh’s original material. Seriously, check out Breakthrough on Josh’s myspace page. And buy his CD.

For you tech/guitar geeks out there Josh’s board was tight. Along with loop/delay he ran a 2 Boss EQs and an Electro-Harmonix Micro POG (For shifting down an octave adding bass gutiar to the loop.) His pedals were actually stacked on top of a 2 channel rack compressor running into an a/b box and his own in-ear monitor before running out to FOH. Essentially this allows him to self-mix guitar and vocal with the a/b allowing him to send either signal to the looper.

After the show Josh told me he often plays with a band but simplifies to just himself and the pedal board for more intimate shows. I say leave the band at home – the one man show rocks.

6 Responses to “Josh Wilson – Awesome Acoustic”


  1. 1 Katie February 1, 2008 at 6:32 am

    Hey thanks for sharing about him, Billy. I checked out his stuff on Myspace and really like what I heard. when I get back to the states I will have to get his CD.

  2. 2 Chris February 1, 2008 at 11:25 am

    Sweet – good stuff! Myspace says he’s on Sparrow – did he say anything about a record coming?

  3. 3 Sarah Chia February 2, 2008 at 12:02 am

    That’s pretty good stuff.

    But you weren’t supposed to go into work today. Hmmmm…. maybe you found a public library?

  4. 4 Billy Chia February 2, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Chris,
    yes, he does have a new CD coming out soon.

    Sarah,
    I took Friday off, I wrote this Thursday night – it just has a Friday posting date.

    Confession time guys – yes, I’ve been terrible about sabbath and my wife has to make me take a day off. I’m trying to justify it by front loading my “work days” in order to try to take off chunks of time so I can go home to visit the girls – but yeah I’ve probably still been overworking.

  5. 5 Amanda February 2, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Josh is very good…I hear the Mayer influence quite a bit. & I’m pretty partial to his last name 🙂 Thanks for posting about him…I’ll tell Mr. Wilson we need to check him out some more.

  6. 6 Nate May 6, 2008 at 11:23 am

    His album is now out and in most christian bookstores and on itunes i think. it’s called “trying to fit the ocean in a cup”


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


