Worship Text-fessional 02.03.2008

The Set List for Chase Valley Church February 3, 2008:

  • All Creatures of Our God and King – David Crowder
  • Forever – Chris Tomlin
  • Hosanna – Paul Baloche
  • Here I am to Worship – Tim Hughes
  • At the Cross – Darlene Zschech, Reuben Morgan

Highlights/Lowlights:

  • My goal this week was to start the set out slow and mellow with All Creatures instead of the routine upbeat opener. (Jesus preached a lot against routine for the sake of routine.) It kinda went ok. Our crowd has some people who grew up with hymns, some that listen to worship CDs and knew it as a Crowder song, and the rest. The words are so good and it’s such a great invocational song to open worship. When we got to the “alleluia” part people started singing along.
  • After that the energy in the room today was intense.
  •  I did not get as much personal rehearsal time this week as I really wanted. I felt kinda naked going out on stage. Every thing’s been busy and difficult because I’m new. Last week was just ridiculous with several events going on on top of the newness factor. This week I’m hoping to get some good practice time in. I can’t really expect my vocalists and instrumentalists to be working hard enough to improve their skills if I’m not doing the same thing right?
  • At the Cross is such a great song. I did the bridge like 80 times it was so good.
  • All in all I felt really great about the morning.
12 Responses to “Worship Text-fessional 02.03.2008”


  1. 1 Kristin February 3, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I felt really good about the morning too.

    GOOOOO Billy Go! I say Billy, you say Go! Billy! GO! Billy! GO!

  2. 2 Billy Chia February 3, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    haha – rock on – we even had high energy announcements huh?

  3. 3 Sarah Chia February 3, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    How do you have high energy announcements??? I thought those were boring by definition.

    When ya gonna do another video?

  4. 4 Kristin February 4, 2008 at 6:55 am

    Sarah, I did the announcement for the “Souper-bowl” party like a cheerleader from Saturday Night Live. So it was loud and silly and I think involved a C-jump. haha.

  5. 5 1godsgal February 4, 2008 at 7:48 am

    Hey Billy! Sounds like a great set…I really appreciate reading your blog. Hang in there…God doesn’t call the equipped, He equips the called! Blessings to ya~

  6. 6 Fred McKinnon February 4, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    hey Billy,

    Glad all is going well! You aren’t too far away now!

    Hope to see you back over on TheWorshipCommunity.Com sometime soon, too!

    Fred

  7. 7 Peter Park February 4, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    I pray you do find the time to worship him and work on your skills as I am seeking to do the same.

  8. 8 Billy Chia February 4, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    Right on – thanks for the encouragement guys.

    I’m finding my problem is my mouth – I just love talking to people. If I can shut my trap long enough to get some work done I should start getting some traction 🙂

  9. 9 Tyler February 5, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Hey Billy-
    I’m a new reader. I was wondering if you have thought about doing the Hillsong Hosanna song?

  10. 10 Billy Chia February 5, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Tyler,
    Great song! Our Church body has sung A LOT of Hillsong in th past year so right now I’m trying to branch out a little. (We are doing 2 Hillsong songs next week though.) We’ll be bringing the Brooke Fraser Hosanna back in to the rotation pretty soon.

  11. 11 Al Sr. February 6, 2008 at 6:34 am

    Great work Billy, keep up the high energy

  12. 12 Tyler February 6, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Yeah it is a great song. She is the next “thing.”


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


