Tornado Sirens

Last night around 4am the loudest, most annoying sound woke me up. Since I’ve been known to ignore severe weather warnings in the past I was hoping to simply go back to sleep. The incessant blast didn’t allow this.

I huddled near an interior wall listening to the radio station. It was nerve racking trying to figure out how close this thing was as I have no knowledge of Alabama geography. The the announcer mentioned that funnel clouds were spotted near Red Stone Arsenal and Jordan Lane. That’s about 2 blocks from my house.

It got kinda freaky and I thought maybe I should take this stuff more seriously. On Monday I hung out with Jeff, who’s church was torn apart by a tornado in the 90’s, and my pal Darren‘s church had a tornado cut right through the sanctuary about 2 years ago.

Around 4:30 I heard the strom was heading northeast and thought I was in the clear. Then they mentioned the only other loction I’m familar with -Winchester Road, where my church is.

I was happy to show up this morning to find nothing had touched down in Huntsville and our building was in one piece. I’m praying for the families of those who lost life in the surrounding counties.

6 Responses to “Tornado Sirens”


  1. 1 Kristin February 6, 2008 at 10:50 am

    Yeah, tornados are NO JOKE here in Huntsville and they come through quite frequently. So its good to have a weather radio and a plan of action. At about 4 I moved the kids onto the blanket-covered washroom floor while G and I listened to the radio. Its always scary when they start saying exact spots that are close to you.

    G’s (my husband)family also lost 12 family members in a tornado that hit his church in 1994 on Palm Sunday. You can see the damage here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pvV6qOYHub0&feature=related

    Glad you stayed safe.

  2. 2 Jeff February 6, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Hey man..glad you were safe too. Glad we could hang out.

  3. 3 brunettekoala February 6, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Eek. Tornados is something I’m not sure we really ever experience in Scotland.

    Glad you are safe!

  4. 4 Sarah Chia February 6, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    We’ve been having some tornado sirens lately, too, but so far the funnels haven’t been around our house.


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


