The Best Cup of Coffee

Right now I’m living in a temporary apartment until my house sells and I can move my family down. If all goes on plan we’ll close on the house March 14th. I’m looking at apartments for my family tomorrow.

So in the apartment I’m in now I have these elderly neighbors. They are awesome. I haven’t had much chance to talk to them but today they invited me in today for some coffee and I actually got to hang out a bit. I found out that the husband used to play organ and direct music in a baptist church.

When I got to the office everyone was talking about where you get the best coffee in town and which one’s are the worst. We talked about everything from Starbucks to McD’s to the indie places in Huntsville. This place has some tremendous coffee.

I think the best cup of coffee I’ve had in a long time was the one I shared with my neighbors.

9 Responses to “The Best Cup of Coffee”


  1. 1 Sarah Chia February 28, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    I’m glad you got the chance to spend some time there. I’m sure it meant as much to them as it did to you.

  2. 2 James February 29, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Billy, hold your Bible in the air and repeat after me…

    This is my Bible. I am what it says I am. I have what it says I have. There is no coffee better than Starbucks. Amen.

    As you were…

  3. 3 Peter Park February 29, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    I hope your family makes it down soon.

  4. 4 Billy Chia March 1, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    James,
    lol – I didn’t know you were an Osteen fan.

    As far as Starbucks, I tend to be an indie rock elitist snob. I prefer the local place with culture over the corporate giant.

  5. 5 James March 1, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    That corporate giant pays my wife’s salary :oD Man, that coffee tastes so good.

    As for Osteen…I’m not a fan, but I have no reason to knock him. I do find his ‘Bible in the air’ routine a little corny though.

  6. 6 Sarah Chia March 2, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    Billy –

    C’mon…haven’t we had enough good coffee memories built up to convert you to Starbuck-worship??

  7. 7 Billy Chia March 2, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    James, Sarah is right, I do have to confess that we drink Starbucks often at home.

  8. 8 James March 2, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    There is hope for you yet, young jedi. Heed the words of your wife. She knows well of what she speaks.

    Why am I talking like I’m Obiwan Kenobi?

  9. 9 Al Sr. March 3, 2008 at 6:52 am

    Have to stop and smell the flowers!!!


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


