Twisted Neck = I Can’t Sing

I’ve been having tons of back pain with that feeling like my ribs are out of place. It’s really hard to get a full breath and so it’s difficult to sing.

I went to the chiropractor today because the pain was just getting ridiculous. He took some x-rays and told me I have whiplash from the auto accident I was in. My neck, which is supposed to have a curve in it is pretty kinked and twisted. As a result my back is out of whack because it’s trying to align with a crooked neck. It’s going to take a few weeks of treatment to get me back to normal.

I’m a little bummed as I was hoping to be on my game for Easter.

But, Christ’s power is made perfect in our weakness right?

9 Responses to “Twisted Neck = I Can’t Sing”


  1. 1 mandythompson March 19, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    oh gosh… this is bad news.

    i did the chiropractor thing a few years ago for hip/back stuff. at first i thought it was weird, but i found a marked improvement!

  2. 2 Sarah Chia March 19, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    I love the chiropractor. Having dealt with scoliosis for years, that man had become my best friend.

    Maybe you’ll get lucky and get to have electrodes put on your back.

  3. 3 Billy March 19, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    At least you got a legit reason, I strained my vocals signing at the top of my lungs at the flogging molly show on St. patties day.

  4. 4 Billy Chia March 19, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    Flogging Molly sounds like it was a good time.

  5. 5 inWorship March 20, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Sorry about this Billy. In our weakness he is strong. good thing He brings His A game all the time. I am sure He will do amazing things through you this weekend.

    Enjoy your Easter!

  6. 7 Kristin March 20, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    BTW I think you actually sound really good. Last night when you were just singing quietly it was beautiful, not pushed at all and really clear and even toned. I know from personal experience my friends always tell me I sound better when I’m singing softly, which makes no sense in my brain, but I can see where its true b/c I dont have the “push” in my voice that edges me towards going flat or sharp. Anyway, I think you sound good and that Easter will be awesome (as well as Good Friday)
    Kristin

  7. 8 Billy Chia March 21, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    Kristin,
    Rock! Thanx! When I met with Webb one of the goals we set for my voice was more soft and less push. Of course soft and light requires better breath support than harsh and blown. If I can get my back straightened out to pull some good breath support I think I’ll have a good place to go vocally and offer the best I possibly can to God.

  8. 9 Derrick Henslee March 25, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Billy,

    Thanks for the comment! The Chiropractor thing was a total new experience for me. I felt a bit man-handled but did feel better afterwards. I run a lot and probably jar things out of place so I need to probably start going more regularly. Sounds like you guys had a great Easter! Keep up the good work!


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


