My Simple Life

I’ve really been digging Shaun Groves’ recent series on simplicity.

Check out the series so far:

I can appreciate many of the issues Shaun brings up. At the Chia house we are continually having conversations on how to live more simply.

Here’s how some of the talk goes:

Why live simply?

A large motivator for us is the ethic of being a one-income family. We have the best kids not only because Sarah is such a tremendous mother but also becuase she has the time to invest in them. We’re not opposed to women working, many women do it well, but it’s not what God has called our family to. To make this work we have to sacrifice a lot, but for us the end result is very worth it.

How we’re doing it now?

Some of the simple things we do around here are similar to Shaun’s:

  • No cable TV
  • Adjusting the thermostat to live less comfortably.
  • Cooking at home or packing food for a picnic instead of eating out
  • Fixing, mending and buying used instead of buying new (or not buying at all.)
  • Celebrating Jesus at Christmas instead of Santa

What’s next?

The conversation never stops at our house. Right now much of it has centered around the fact that quality food is expensive. We are trying to strike a balance between eating healthy and keeping the food budget down.

5 Responses to “My Simple Life”


  1. 1 brunettekoala June 1, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    I love that you and Sarah have been talking about this. It’s something me and the rest of my smallgroup at MBC have been trying to do.

    Here are some of the things I’ve been challenged with this year…

    1. Purchasing a bus pass so I use public transport more than my car. I only take the car when I’ll be coming back somewhere at night.

    2. No phone line. I have my mobile.

    3. No TV License, which means no TV. Me and my flatmate watch DVDs and we lend to/borrow from people.

    4. Recycling. Me and my flatmate take turns sorting out and taking it to our local recycling point each week. We also try to remember resusable bags so we’re not doing always taking more plastic ones.

    5. Not taking a wander round the shops every time I’m bored so I’m less likely to be buying material posessions I don’t actually need ‘because they’re on sale’ or to try and cheer myself up when I’m feeling down.

    The huge challenge for me at the moment though is your last point…food. I want to eat healthy and I’m not a fan of additives, chemicals and colourings which cheap food tends to be full of. So how do I get the balance between eating healthy and varied diet without spending loads of money?!

  2. 2 Billy Chia June 2, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Laura Anne,
    Cool to hear about your simple journey. Very cool to hear you are using public transit. Another simple-life move Sarah and I have made has been to reduce where we are driving and drive together as much as possible instead of taking two cars. It’s helped a lot.

  3. 3 Peter Park June 2, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Very admirable. My wife and I are trying to figure out the family thing as our baby is on the way. God has blessed her with a job where her hours are a little bit earlier so she has more time freedom.

  4. 4 alex mclean June 6, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Billy, we’re in the same boat. I’ve seen a huge difference between our kids and kids of 2 working parents. I’m not making a judgment call, I’m just saying I see a difference in our kids. We’ve cut everywhere we can possibly cut. Food is also our struggle – we enjoy good food, maybe not even healthy as much, but we’re working on it. I think it’s good for Christ followers to live the simple life, especially when we know that this world is not our home, or is it? depends on your eschatology I guess.

  5. 5 Al Sr. June 8, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Awesome theory, when mom stays home with the kids, the kids turn out the way our Lord intended to


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


