Seth Godin Likes Round Tables Too

This past week at Chase Valley we tried something new and it was a smashing success.

At least the event part of it was.

One of my goals for The Worship Round Table was to create an environment that was worth people’s time. The last thing I wanted to do was to merely cram one more church thing on to people’s already-crammed calendars. I wanted a night that held high value for those who participated. Based on the feedback so far, people had a great time, truly enjoyed themselves and felt an immediate impact from the experience.

Which is great, but…

A deeper goal was to create something that has lasting impact. I’d like to see people continue talking about what happened long after they left the church building. I know for myself I couldn’t even sleep Thursday night thinking about all the possibilities. I would never overtly wish insomnia on anyone, but a small part of me hoped that others were similarly sleepless over what God could potentially do within and through our small community.

The real measure of an event’s success comes long after the event is over.

In his post today, Seth Godin supports the concept of round table discussion.

Seth writes,

A month after the conference, do you think people will remember the table where they spent an hour? When you force people through mild social anxiety, they thank you for it later.

The value of facilitating this type of interaction is that people tend to remember it longer than stage-presented content. And that was my hope for The Worship Round Table.

We’ll see how things play out as I collate and distribute the whiteboard ideas.

 

Follow me on Twitter


