Go Ahead, Call Me a Vampire

fun with waterI am itchy. A sharp stabbing pain is emanating from the line around the back of my neck where the collar of my t-shirt ends. It all happened yesterday at the post-VBS pool party. I had a great afternoon eating pizza, teaching my daughter to swim and getting trounced by our youth group in a game of “How fast can we launch wet Nerf projectiles at each others’ heads?” Then I got home and the UV rays had taken their toll. I put on some SPF 50 before I went out, but that didn’t seem to make a difference. Even my arm hair is itching right now.

The verdict is in and I’m just not a fan of the Sun. I love swimming. I used to be a life guard and a camp counselor, but these days I can’t stand to be outside for more than 20 minutes.

I may have to boycott all pool activities for the rest of summer.

Are you guys getting burned or keeping in doors?

8 Responses to “Go Ahead, Call Me a Vampire”


  1. 1 Chris Martin June 28, 2008 at 9:21 am

    You’re a vampire…

    Billy is on a quest now, and I wish him well…but I have business in this realm…(name that show)

  2. 2 Jay Sellers June 28, 2008 at 9:53 am

    I was hanging on a sailboat mast installing a radar this past week for about 3 hours without sunblock. That mistake resulted in the nasty itchy peeling spot on my right leg. I hate sunburns.

  3. 3 Mark Warnock June 28, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    Sunblock, dude. Every time. Get on it, get used to it, or get skin cancer. That’s life in the South! Take it from a white skinned redhead who grew up in Florida.

  4. 4 Scott Fillmer June 29, 2008 at 5:11 am

    I am with you 100%… I went out to do some photography for the “youth lake day” and, although it was fun to ride around on 2 ski boats and a sea-doo all day, when I got home, I was totally warn out and burn in various places I had obviously missed by the spf 75 I put on.

  5. 5 Kristin June 29, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    I was going to do the whole Dwight on the Office thing, but that guy up there beat me to it.

  6. 6 Billy Chia June 29, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Chris,
    That was from the office?! I can’t believe I missed that. I remember now – such a hilarious episode.

  7. 7 jordan July 2, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Let me first say that I am an idiot and don’t try this at home. My workout schedule with NorthWood and home only works this way. The Mrs. cranks out her workout at the wee hours a.m. (and I wouldn’t do it anyway) whilst daddy (me) reads and stays home as the kids sleep. Then as following during lunch

    Monday-swim and run (come early a leave late to justify longer lunch)
    Tuesday-swim
    Wednesday-run
    Thursday-swim
    Friday swim and run

    I run at 1:00 in the afternoon in Texas and today it is 97F. So yes I am slowly getting tan. I am also going to the Doc next week to get another place frozen off my back (nice huh). Yes I am stupid.

  8. 8 blu July 7, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Chelsee and I spent three hours in the sun a couple days ago
    -wishing- for a sunburn
    because that would have meant that the sun had actually affected our bodies
    I think our skin has natural anti-sun pigments in it or something
    because the worst sunburn I ever had was only on the tops of my knees & shoulders
    and no matter how much time I spend in the sun, I can’t ever get a tan

    sunburns are fun to mess around with though
    especially if they’re on someone else : P


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


