Don’t Hold Back on Me Now

Team is so important – today mine shined brilliantly.

Pulling out hair

One of the frustrating parts of the last six months been rebuilding the team. Before I came on board close to 80% of the worship team (including musicians and techs) left the church. In most cases I’ve been rebuilding from scratch. The large majority of my team is new and few people know how our sound, lighting, and media equipment works. On other Sundays when  something goes wrong I’ve been the only one who knows how to fix it. I find myself often running all around the church trying to tie six or seven loose ends together. Of course this type of stress always puts my heart in a great place to then get up on stage and lead worship. Either that or it puts my heart is a lousy place and makes it really hard to lead worship. One of the two.

Take the Initiative

Over the last six months I’ve been working toward creating a culture of risk-taking. I don’t want people to wait around for me to do everything but rather I’m trying to build up a team of people who act first and ask permission later. When it’s Sunday morning go time there’s no time to explain or discuss. I trust my team and more and more they are getting that.

The Victory

Today at about 5 minutes to sound check our Media PC died. I didn’t have time to mess with it or to tell someone else how to trouble shoot it, I needed to be on stage.

Thankfully I had an astute crew in the booth that leaped into action. It ended up being a simple connections problem and everything got rolling. The worship production when off with out a hitch and the Holy Spirit totally rained down. It was great morning.

3 Responses to “Don’t Hold Back on Me Now”


  1. 1 Fred McKinnon July 13, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    Billy,
    Thanks for sharing this … and thanks for bragging on your volunteers. I know they appreciate it!

  2. 2 Tyler July 13, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    Awesome!

    I love it when volunteer teams do things that make me want to pay them.

  3. 3 Jon Lloyd July 14, 2008 at 12:15 am

    It’s great to see people step-up!


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


