Do Two Hymns

I like new songs. I like old songs. “Worship Wars” has always seemed like a silly, trite thing to me. Most of the time I do sets of 4 recently released pieces of music and 1 hymn.

I never heard much feedback on it though.

Today I received several emails thanking me that we do hymns. I thought, “What gives? I’ve been doing hymns since I got here. Why the sudden influx of gratitude?”

Yesterday we did 2 hymns.

7 Responses to “Do Two Hymns”


  1. 2 John Voelz July 14, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Funny.

    Hey, man . . . I linked you on my blog today. Share the love?

  2. 3 Mark July 15, 2008 at 7:05 am

    I get that, too. Most of the time, when I pull out an old warhorse that reminds someone of an encounter with God twenty to fifty years ago, they’ll speak or write something appreciative to me.

    The other side is this: do not forget that there are people in your congregation (prob not many) that are counting hymns every Sunday. It’s not right, but it’s real.

  3. 4 Al Sr. July 15, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    Some of your congregation feels is cool to share with you, thats is a mayor step in the right direction !!!

  4. 5 Skyescraper July 16, 2008 at 1:16 am

    Yeah, I’ve noticed there are people who count hymns too, and they don’t count if they’re ‘jazzed up’, either. They want them sung the way they remember them, doggone it!

  5. 6 Billy Chia July 16, 2008 at 9:03 am

    I’ve gotten good comments on jazzed up hymns.

    Funny enough I’ve received the most complaints on modern praise songs in terms of “you don’t do it like I’m used to.”

    You can chalk it up to stylistic difference between the last worship leader and me.

  6. 7 brunettekoala July 17, 2008 at 3:57 am

    I think it’s good to have a combination of stuff. It can be good to jazz up hymns, but also good to occasionally sing them in traditional way.

    With modern songs, I think because they are newer, it’s difficult to really get into the worship if the band is doing them in a different time or whatever to what you are used to. When I’m doing BVs, I’ve had the time to practice and get used to it. If I’m in the congregation I’m singing away to God (usually with my eyes shut), and suddenly I’m halted as we skip to something else or jump to the next line a couple of beats earlier than I expected. Or I’m at the chorus but the band hasn’t got there yet. It’s distracting because then I’m not singing to God as much as I’m just singing trying to follow and work out where the band is going next…which is fine once I get used to it. But it could get irritating if they do the every single song differently every single week…

    Perhaps that’s why we need a balance of creativity and consistency.


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


