Connecting with the Catalyst Podcast

I’ve been a fan of the Catalyst Podcast since episode 1. These guys put together a great show. Recently Ken did an email poll asking the questions, “What do your Evangelical Christian friends think of Obama?”

I have heard nothing positive about Obama. Actually, I’ve heard a lot of “the change we must change to the change we hold dear” but precious little about what he actually stands for and why people like it. This post sums up pretty well most of the reasons I’ve heard not to vote for him.

So I responded to Ken’s poll and he read my email on the show!

You can listen to episode 53 around 7:00 minutes in. They even got my name right.

This is not a political blog, I’m not endorsing any candidate here, I’m simply reporting my experience. If do you like Obama, feel free to drop some comments on why.

Cool, now I’ve been mentioned by name on the Catalyst podcast – my next goal?

To be the feature interview 🙂

8 Responses to “Connecting with the Catalyst Podcast”


  1. 2 Tyler July 29, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    Wow Billy I would say to absolute opposite about my friends and Obama.

    One question (and no I’m not criticizing you): Is saying that one candidate is bad an endorsement of the other?

  2. 3 Katie July 29, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    I am going to say the same as Tyler. I am finding that lots of my friends are voting for Obama. Christian or nonChristian it doesn’t matter. They like the “change we can believe in” But I’m not sure what the change is. I never hear him say what he is going to change. Is it the color of the carpet, or actually some policy that needs to be changed. Because I think he forgets as president he doesn’t have the ability to make new policy. If he wants to do that he should stay a senator.

  3. 4 mudpuppy July 29, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    You can now say that you know at least one ‘evangelical’ that is voting for Obama (that would be me).

    But I do find that at the church I attend, the mere mention of Obama is grounds for treason. I’m often scared for my little liberal life.

    ps. Before the question gets asked, no I won’t go into my pro’s and con’s for my candidate or even his oppenent. I will however point you to this great article.

  4. 5 Sarah Chia July 29, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    I’ve found that people I’ve talked to are pretty opposed to Obama, too.

    We had a nice discussion at the pool one day with some others in our complex and a few of them said that they are Democrats, but they won’t vote for him.

    Others I’ve talked to are in education and think he’s yet to offer any viable solutions.

  5. 6 Billy Chia July 29, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Tyler,
    Absolutely, yes it would be. That is why I am not saying any one candidate is good or bad. (At least not on this blog, at this time.)

    What I am doing is reporting what I’ve heard from the overwhelming majority of my friends who are Christians. (This is what the poll asked for – not my opinion, but what I’ve heard.) The report that I personally have heard the most often in my unique circle of specifically Evangelical friends is “Obama is bad in a big way.”

    Mud,
    Thanks for the link to Article. I’ll check it out. I can respect your desire to “not go into” – look at my words directly above, I’m weaseling out of taking as stance as well.

    It seems as Christians we get bent out of shape when people don’t want to talk about Jesus. “Religion and Politics” those are the taboo topics. That seems retarded to me – those are the most important things to discuss! It seems if we want to keep the conversation going about Jesus going we need to be willing to tackle the presidential election as well. But that’s another post for another day.

    I still welcome any comments on the pros of Barack Obama.

  6. 7 Chris Stout July 29, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Well, I’ve always wanted to find myself in the middle of the road, but I seem to lean one direction. So maybe my opinion’s are skewed, I’m not sure. Here’s what I know:

    Obama:
    Seems to be a very well educated person. He knows how to deliver a speech and get the blood pumping. He’s relatively young, seems to be a man of God, and sounds like he has a good “plan.” BUT, I don’t like the fact that he hasn’t laid out his plan. I don’t like the fact that I’ve heard he doesn’t support our 2nd amendment. I don’t like the fact that while over seas for this last visit to the troops, he brushed in and brushed out with out shaking the hand of one soldier with the exception of the General in Charge. I don’t like the fact that he didn’t say hello or thank you, or keep up the good work to the men and women who went out of their way to make sure his safety and entertainment was perfect while he was there. I just plain out don’t like that.

    McCain:
    Seems like he flip flops, an older guy, and according to my father was a horrible pilot (he gave him transition training after he was released from being a POW) not that it matters. I do know that he supports our 2nd amendment rights and supports every single troop, sailor, airman, and marine that spent 1 second in the military. I do know he will support our troops and secure our freedom during his term, but I also know our budget and the value of the American Dollar will not get much better.

    Pro’s and con’s to both. Bottom line is that I’ve sworn to defend the Constitution of the United States of America against enemies foreign and domestic and obey the orders of those appointed over me (see this post). Whomever gets elected, I have to stand up to, salute and say, “Aye Aye Sir.”

  7. 8 Ryan July 30, 2008 at 8:25 am

    Chris. That last paragraph is so good. Thanks for that. We often long for one person or the other to make it, and then if the one we didn’t want makes it we constantly grumble about them and complain about them – yet the Bible is clear – we are to obey AND respect our authorities. Sure, we might disagree with some things they’re doing and we can still try to work for positive change, but we need to honor God’s Word in politics as well.


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


