Flair of the Week: ConsumingWorship.org

Jeff sent me some flair for his blog Consuming Worship

It has a cool artsy looking guitar.

You can see it prominently featured this week on my facebook profile.

Do have flair for your blog yet?

16 Responses to “Flair of the Week: ConsumingWorship.org”


  1. 1 Jeff M. Miller August 11, 2008 at 9:54 am

    Well now, that’s just pretty cool.

    Thanks for the honor, Billy.

  2. 3 Billy Chia August 11, 2008 at 11:27 am

    Paul,
    “Pieces of Flair” is an application on facebook that allows you to create, share and display buttons or “flair” on a virtual corkboard. It’s kinda goofy – but I find it’s one of the simplest ways to display your personality on facebook. (You can also promote a friends blog on your flair board.)

    Send me a friend invite on facebook and I’ll shoot you an invite to the “pieces of flair” app.

  3. 4 Paul J. August 11, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Actually, I’m not on facebook. Should I be mortified and ashamed?

  4. 5 Billy Chia August 11, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Paul,
    For local church ministry it’s a must – there are several folks (mostly college and youth, along with a growing number of adults) who never check their email but respond within minutes to a facebook message.

    It has other capabilities that make it a powerful tool to organize, connect, and cause collaboration within a local church context. I’d say at a minimum it is worth signing up and testing out.

    I guarantee at a bare minimum you absolutely will find good friends from college/high school you have not talked to in a long time and reconnect with them.

  5. 6 janowen August 11, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    no, i don’t know how to make flair. and i don’t have a logo. i need help.

  6. 7 janowen August 11, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    to clarify – i have the app and a million pieces of flair. i just don’t know how to create it….some graphic artist out there help me come up with a logo or something for my blog!

  7. 8 klampert August 11, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    uh yeah…I will have one for ya soon 🙂

  8. 9 jordan August 12, 2008 at 7:34 am

    Hey, I want these buttons for real to add to my Bennigan’s server uniform…Oh wait, they went bankrupt so I don’t have that job anymore.

  9. 10 Billy Chia August 12, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Jan,
    Flair is dead easy to make, you can turn any image on your computer into flair – just click on the “make flair” tab.

    You don’t need to be a graphic artist.

    You could easily make some cool flair out the header you currently have – I probably wouldn’t recommend this since it’s a stock template, and you flair would then brand the template rather than your blog.

    If you don’t go the route of getting a new logo – I’d just find an original image to put in your header.

  10. 11 mandythompson August 12, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    i’m addicted to flair. i am

  11. 12 therealworshipleader August 28, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    I’d love to make a button for my site. How did you make yours?

  12. 13 Billy Chia August 29, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    thereal,
    I used the “Pieces of Flair” application for facebook. Once you install it, it’s pretty self explanatory.

  13. 14 therealworshipleader August 30, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    I presume you created the image first before you uploaded it. I had thought I could find a template and add text in the facebook application, but that doesn’t seem possible. Any hints?

  14. 15 Billy Chia September 1, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Mike,
    Yeah, you can create flair out of just about any image.

    I use Photoshop to add text to my images. I know there are fee image editing software programs out there that would allow you to create some text.

    One program I know of is called “The Gimp” it is awesome and has all the power of Photoshop (for free) but it also has an extremely high learning curve.

    http://www.gimp.org/windows/

    Another program is called Draw Plus from Serif. This is not any sort of amazing program but it will let you make an image with text.

    http://www.freeserifsoftware.com/

  15. 16 therealworshipleader October 1, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Billy,

    Thanks for the help! I used the Draw Plus program from Serif and created myself a new avatar.


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


