My Thoughts on Healer

Surfing Breaks by millzero.com on flickrIn The Purpose Driven Church Rick Warren (a true California pastor) makes the analogy that following the Holy Spirit is like surfing. The idea is that God, like the waves, is always moving. We can’t manufacture a movement of God’s Spirit no more than we could sit in the ocean and create a wave with our Surf board. We don’t create the wave, that’s God’s job, ours is to find the wave and ride it.

Right now God is sending a typhoon to my local church – the question isn’t “Is God moving?” The question is “Because God IS moving what am I going to do about it?”

This passion has consumed me over the last few days, and honestly, it’s made the Healer controversy seem very small compared to how much God is pushing me. So I didn’t put up a post yesterday and instead dreamed some bigger dreams for my church.

If you don’t know about this controversy that has rocked the local church around the world, or if you want to get in on the conversation I suggest starting here, or here.

Or you can comment on:

Healer: Manufactured wave or movement of God?

10 Responses to “My Thoughts on Healer”


  1. 1 Russ August 21, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Right on Billy.

    I’m totally not really even affected by this, because even though I’m very connected to what others are doing around the worship blogosphere, I never jumped on the “Healer” band wagon. Honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever even heard it all the way through.

    Regardless, God is still THE HEALER.

    Blessings and ZEAL for you in what God is showing you and challenging you with in this adventurous season at your church!!

  2. 2 Rob Petrini August 21, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Hey Billy, I guess it hits me a little bit more… being Aussie and knowing Mike and his music. For an Aussie, Mike is like Chris Tomlin to an American or Matt Redman to the English…

    But you are definitely right mate… we gotta be on our boards and shooting the curl! God is moving (and it’s exciting to see & hear what He is doing with you guys!)… what are we doing about it!?

  3. 3 klampert August 21, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    I totally agree, but also know how big this is. like rob said. This was the flagship song for the this is our god product and really took off.
    I personally like the song first and then later found out about the testimony. of course testimony in any situation makes things more powerful.
    eg. would be blessed be your name written of 9-11 and heart of worship becaues of redmans church stripping the music down. these testimonies tug at your heartstrings and make songs even more relevant.

    With that said I cant wait to hear what you guys are doing and I am also excited about what we are doing in our church.

    my thoughts are here. http://cecworship.wordpress.com/2008/08/21/healer-thoughts-now-what/

  4. 4 Mike Mahoney August 21, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    While this does not touch me directly, (we’ve never played “Healer” at service) the song does pull heartstrings. Can you guess what my Song of the Week will be tomorrow? Can it be anything else?

    I’m more concerned with what this will do to the Body. We can tear ourselves apart over it, or we can learn from it an move on.

    My thoughts are here:

    http://mikeymo1741.blogspot.com/2008/08/michael-guglielmucci-achen-warned-you.html

  5. 5 Joey Davis August 21, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    I think I I have found a group of cool people that I will start hanging out with if you will let me. Found the cool “Aussie” and it seems that his friends love Jesus too! Awesome. With that said, I say this about your post and water/waves…I am reminded of a lyric by Jason Upton that says, “I tried to walk on the water, but found myself under the sea, so with water up my nostrils I felt Your hand come close to save me…” Cool post…think I’ll do some drop ins….not the blue toilet tick-tacks either!

  6. 6 brewster August 21, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Great perspective man. Keep focused on what you can do to change the world. I love that vision. God is a healer regardless of what man does.

  7. 7 justinthesouth August 23, 2008 at 10:03 am

    I like the way that you are looking at this. I think that we all should take a step back when looking at things…

  8. 8 willyang September 4, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    prior to the news, i never heard the song. after hearing the news and having listened to the song, i like it. it’s powerful, even more so because of the situation.

    my thoughts here:

    http://willyang.wordpress.com/2008/09/03/its-about-morality/


  1. 1 Oop’s I Don’t Have Terminal Cancer (part 3) - betterthanblank Trackback on August 21, 2008 at 3:16 pm
  2. 2 Discerning the hype from the Spirit « Musings of a Koala Trackback on August 24, 2008 at 3:48 pm
Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


