I Will Lift My Eyes

Beyond the clouds, from Vancouver to San Francisco

I’m excited and nervous. I want to trust God will all that I am.

It’s difficult.

I love my church and I see their potential. In the last 8 months these people have become my closest friends. I want to see them soar. I feel like tonight is a crossroads. We will either begin a new journey – one on the dangerous path following Jesus Christ, or we will stay safe in our apathy.

Dorothy Ann reminded me that this will probably be the first meeting of many. Those are wise words for a high octane worrier like myself.

These lyrics from Bebo Norman have been in my head all day – this is how I think about tonight:

I will lift my eyes to the Maker
Of the mountains I can’t climb
I will lift my eyes to the Calmer
Of the oceans raging wild
I will lift my eyes to the Healer
Of the hurt I hold inside
I will lift my eyes, lift my eyes to You

10 Responses to “I Will Lift My Eyes”


  1. 1 Randy Miller August 26, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    dude, we’re going thru the same exact thing. the congregation is sitting there saying to me, “pastor, if you want to go out and reach the lost, go for it. just keep my worship the way i want it and don’t ask me to make a commitment.” as a church worker, it is a watershed moment: are you in for the long-haul to see the vision realized? if not, be up front and honest and find a place where you will be in for the long haul. i’m going through the same discernment process as we speak. i’ll keep ya in prayer…

  2. 2 janowen August 26, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Billy, I think God is doing some major things in alot of our churches. I too feel like we’ve had a word from the Lord. Sometimes God gives us as leaders the word first and we have to live it out to lead it out if that makes sense. The work God is doing in you right now is the preparation for your leadership of your church in the future. In other words, you’re always a little out front of the church body, scouting the way. Be strong, stay courageous, hang onto the word of God to you and your church and live it out, my friend.

  3. 3 Kristin August 27, 2008 at 7:53 am

    I just saw your facebook status. I’m sorry. I fell asleep (still sick) around 5:30. I’ll call later today.

  4. 4 Joey Davis August 27, 2008 at 8:19 am

    I look at the picture that you posted….cool pic. I think of, as I look at the picture, people that hang around the base of the mountain, and then there are people that long for the pinnacle, not for the glory of themsevles, but to just see. Some gaze at what the journey could be like, some grab a hand and say go with me, and then there are some that back their bags and say, ” I will not die with the question resounding in my heart of “What if.”
    Where do you attend church?

  5. 5 BethIvy August 27, 2008 at 8:48 am

    this reminds me a lot of a prophecy that’s been happening in my community. God is about to be doing something huge with His Church everywhere, and He wants those who are with Him to jump on board, not fearing the cost.

    the wise words dorthy ann gave you definitely point to how God works differently than we do though. sometimes jumping onto what God’s doing, especially when you’re bringing a whole church with you, means you will have to do some gentle leading to help some see God’s move. and by you i mean God. He will use you. (He’s been reminding me a lot lately that no matter how personal or global the situation is, He is still the one who is working things to His Glory.)

    i’ll be praying for you. when you pray on this, see if God wants you in this situation to come with Him alone if others aren’t following, or to stay back for a bit, to help lead the others.

    let me know how things turn out, and if there’s anything i can specifically be praying for.

  6. 6 Craig August 27, 2008 at 10:22 am

    I am excited to what God is doing in so many place RIGHT NOW!!! God has promised the increase if we are willing vessels. This is a nervous time for many…election years always keep people on edge. So many things are attacking churches, too. I believe that if our churches stand up, we will see even more growth for the cause of Christ in the coming weeks, months, and years. Have a blessed day, my friend!

  7. 7 xpandy August 27, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Hi Billy – so sorry to hear you in distress. But on re-reading your article, I think you have provided your own answer. If you have to anguish over the decision, then quite clearly the new path is what Billy wants, not what God wants. If the new path is what God wants you to walk, then everything will just drop into place, no anguish, the old situation will resolve and the new will just unfold before you. Remember that you are doing this for God, not for yourself. Hear the still, small voice.

    Praying for you!

    (Lovely words from that song, too!)

    Andrew L

  8. 8 angelbearoh August 27, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Every week I get a couple of days off, and during these days I feel guilty. I’m rapidly running out of earthly life, and I’m desperate to talk to a big audience about God, the way He wants me to. But I can’t come up with the knock it out of the park message I want to give.
    Am I okay, or am I in trouble?

  9. 9 Billy Chia August 28, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Andrew (and everyone else),
    Thank you for your prayers! They are working.

    I am seeking God on this. Leaders in my community are seeking God on this. Followers are seeking God on this. If we are anguishing, it’s out of a desire to find God’s way and give up our way.

  10. 10 Eric M. August 30, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    Billy…

    Draw strength, you are not alone. God is moving in the city/metro church. As his movement increases, so does the warfare. God wants to move us beyond our own strength so when amazing things happen, he is the only one that can get the glory. Press in to Jesus.


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


