Loud and Quiet

Worship was amazing yesterday. Here’s the music:

  • Not to Us
  • Lay It Down
  • Hungry
  • The Stand
  • Made Me Glad

Some cool things:

Shouting: We did a “Call and Response” type of liturgical thing this week. We don’t normally do a lot of liturgy so this was different, and maybe I can even say, “fresh” ? I read some scriptures and had people repeat back the line:

Let us rejoice and shout for joy!

People got into it and actually shouted for joy! Very cool moment.

Silence: Following all the shouting we took a moment of silence – it was more like a few minutes of silence. Usually this freaks people out, we don’t like to be still, but it was really meaningful time. As I looked out I saw heads bowed and eyes raised to heaven in prayer. People really took the opportunity to personally connect with God before singing and that was reflected in the worship that followed.

Raise hands: We did the silence stuff for those who are non-emotive and like the contemplative worship – even the non-contemplative people got into it.  So we also had opportunities for loud, emotive, physical worship. During “The Stand” before we hit the bridge that everyone loves to sing I prepped it by asking everyone to raise their hands. They did. Like 90% of the people in the room sang that part of the sang “I’ll stand with arms high…” and they actually had their arms lifted high!

Man I just love when worship is cohesive and people’s actions match their words. I hate unenthusiastically stating “let us shout to God” and I had singing “I’ll raise my hands” when they are by my side. Everything was super authentic this week.

Want to see more setlists? Check out Fred McKinnon’s blog carnival Setlist Sundays.

13 Responses to “Loud and Quiet”


  1. 1 Fred F. McKinnon September 15, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Billy,
    Way to lead the people, man … sounds great!

    For the Kingdom,
    Fred McKinnon
    http://www.fredmckinnon.com
    http://www.theworshipcommunity.com

  2. 2 Sarah Chia September 15, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    Worship rocked yesterday.

  3. 3 windbag September 15, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    The Stand. Most excellent song. I first heard it a couple of years ago at a father/son extreme sports camp my son and I attended one weekend. All we did was the chorus, no verses or the pre-chorus. Cool list.

  4. 4 worshipcity September 15, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Billy, Billy, Billy! Kudos man! This is one great set and I LOVE what you did to engage the different types of worshippers in the congregation! That’s awesome. It was always the toughest thing for me as the Worship Leader to remember all the other types of people in the room who didn’t worship like I did 🙂

  5. 5 Steve September 15, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    I love the shouting aspect. I’m looking at doing something similar for an upcoming Men’s Retreat. Did you have to give people permission to shout or did it naturally happen with the scripture you used?

  6. 6 Tyler September 15, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    Was that lay it down by matt maher? how did it go as a congregational song? i sang it just by myself but as a special a while back.

  7. 7 Billy Chia September 16, 2008 at 8:54 am

    Steve,
    I did a bit of an intentional intro and we practiced the shouting together. I’ve done this kind of thing before with other groups and they needed MUCH more coaxing. My congregation caught on right away on Sunday.

    Tyler,
    Yep the same. I actually used your video to help me figure out the song, Matt Maher does NOT do such a great job on the New Song Cafe vid.

    I introduced it last week when I led by myself. The band did an tremendous job with this one but people actually sang MORE last week. I guess it goes like that sometimes.

  8. 8 chelan September 16, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    sounds like the way you switched things up really worked! i too, think it’s important to remember that there are all kinds of worshipers – contemplative, loud, charismatic, those who silently pray the words instead of shout them…and to address several types in one service is wise. you can never ‘please everybody’ but you can include many, making it easier for the body as a whole to enter in. good set toooo – it’s a good thing to mix older songs in with the new…for the same reason.

    wish i coulda been there.

  9. 9 thejonmorris September 16, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    liturgy, i wish i knew how to use that word in a sentence. haha.
    great stuff dude. been really thinking about requesting certain responses in worship here recently….with some scripture references. similar to what you did.

    i think sometimes as worship leaders we just close our eyes and hope for the best, but to truly be a leader we just teach, lead, and experience worship.

  10. 10 mandythompson September 17, 2008 at 6:59 am

    I really like the variety. It sounds like you and I are doing similar stuff in our churches!

  11. 11 Gary Durbin September 18, 2008 at 9:24 am

    yeah, I’ve really gotten intentional at teaching biblical expression in worship…it’s a gift for us to use.


  1. 1 FredMcKinnon.Com » Blog Archive » Sunday Setlists #8 - Share Your Worship Recap Trackback on September 21, 2008 at 6:45 am
  2. 2 SHCC Sunday setlist (more like a review) 9-21-08 « SHCC Worship Ministry blog Trackback on September 22, 2008 at 3:10 pm
Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


