Experiencing Church

It’s Monday morning and I’m running on adrenaline. I’ve taken one day off in the last 3 weeks. I don’t feel tried. I never do – I tend to have endless amounts of energy until I crash. Instead I get irratable.

I feel it in my kidneys.

The chemical push of an artificial readiness. I haven’t sabbathed and I’m starting to pay the price.

It’s a hard place to be. Even if I could go back in time and take last Saturday off I wouldn’t. My head knows that that’s diobedience to God, but my heart needed last Saturday. We had a Fall Festival at church coordinated by our rockstar Children’s Pastor. This is the type of thing She is really good at. It was amazing. over 40 Chase Valley Church members showed up to pour out themselves by serving over 400 people from the community.

It was the most Church I’ve experience since I moved to Alabama.

The last two weeks of worship have been amazing. We have amazing people at Chase Valley. I’ve led worship all over the country in all types of churches and I’ve rarely experience people more dedicated and passionate for God on a Sunday morning. It’s an honor to lead them each week and the last 2 weeks have been over the top.

Yesterday we prayed over a missionary going India. Our missionary we sent to Rawanda came up and laid a hand on him during the prayer. It just felt like, “This is what Chase Valley Church is supposed to do.” Why haven’t we done this more in the last 10 months?

We also started promoting Operation Christmas Child. We have a member at CVC that’s amazing passionate about this ministry and she got on mic to ralley the troups yesterday. At Chase Valley we not only participate in Operation Christmas Child – we are the collection center. Which means other churches bring their boxes to us and our volunteers do extra duty to ship them out. That’s the kind of church Chase Valley is – we’re full of people who do “extra duty.” This was evident on Saturday when folks who normally don’t serve in the area of Worship Arts were ready and willing to help set up/tear down sound gear. That’s the kinda people we have – they don’t say, “that’s not my job” they just step up and serve.

5 Responses to “Experiencing Church”


  1. 1 Ryan November 3, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Hey Billy – hang in there.

    One important question: How’s your family? I’m understanding the pressures of bi-vocational life – but family can’t suffer. I just wanted to encourage you and make sure your family is getting what they need from you.

  2. 2 Peter Park November 3, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Sounds awesome man. Don’t forget to take a break. I know what it’s like to burnout and it sounds like you do too. I”m pray for you friend.

  3. 3 Billy Chia November 3, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    Thanks guys – yes I have made time for family.

  4. 4 Ryan November 4, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Awesome. I figured you did – just wanted to be sure. 🙂

  5. 5 Al Sr November 5, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Amen, remember our lord rested on Sun (one day a week) must important !!!


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


