Distracted

Setlist for today

  • O Come Emmanuel – Billy Chia (I used an em9 inspried by Jeremy’s version. Mine’s a little more rocked out.)
  • One Way – Hillsong United
  • King of Glory – Chris Tomlin
  • Awesome is the Lord Most High – Chris Tomlin
  • Inside Out – Hillsong United
  • Til I See You – Hillsong

The band did a tremendous job today. I had another scheduled worship leader so I got to hang back and just play lead guitar. The band felt tight on stage.

The crowd was … unenthusiastic.

I personally did not show up with my A game today. Last week held 7 shades of turmoil at Chase Valley. We’re still in it and I’m not allowed to talk about it. This past week I spent tons of time in prayer over this situation. I invested the majority of my emotional and spiritual energy into it instead of investing energy into “how can I be the best leader for my team this week?”

I felt like I was just reacting to situations that arose this morning instead of proactively leading. I hadn’t gotten my head into the leading my team and leading our peope in worship. I was still focused on this other tangent that needs to be resolved.

Honestly, my heart is just shattered over this. I’m sure I’ll blog about it once there’s a resolution. For now all things are on the DL.

In the meantime check out some other folk’s sunday setlist at Fred’s site.

23 Responses to “Distracted”


  1. 1 Fred F. McKinnon November 30, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    Billy,
    For such a time as this, bro … we have to believe that God knew exactly what He was doing in bringing you to AL. I love your authenticity, man!

    God bless you tons,
    Fred

  2. 2 matt macdonald November 30, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    dude, i’ve been there before. keep the faith, stay strong.

    Check out Hosea 6. Specifically;

    Let us know; let us press on to know the LORD;
    his going out is sure as the dawn;
    he will come to us(E) as the showers,
    as the spring rains that water the earth.

    Bless you.

    Matt

  3. 3 dorothy (vicar of vibe) November 30, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    My heart and prayers are with you dude.

  4. 4 Brad Hafner November 30, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    Billy,

    Hang in there, buddy. I’m praying that God’s blessings be full in your life and your church’s. We all get “weary in well doing”, but stay strong in the Lord.

    Brad

  5. 5 Jeremy Killian November 30, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Glad you could use the “Emmanuel” ideas. I’ve been getting the feeling that you’ve been struggling a bit at church lately. No answers here, but I’m thinking about you, man.

  6. 6 Ben November 30, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    Echoing Fred. Hang in my friend. Praying for you.

  7. 7 David Lindner November 30, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    That’s happened to me too. Sometimes it might not be as big of a situation as you’re going through, but there are definately weeks when I focus on other things more than I do on preparing to lead for the weekend and the weekend suffers.

    It’s hard. I don’t know all that you’re going through, but I’ll pray for you.

  8. 8 Chris Stout November 30, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Man,

    We’ve had some things go on in my church that have really put a tax on us. What really sucks is that it happened in the Ministry that I’m in charge of. Ofcourse, still can’t talk about it and only a very select few know about it.

    “Oh God thank you for these challenges, but can you take it easy next time around? Thanks man…” That thought just came to mind.

  9. 9 Billy Chia November 30, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Thanks guys. Thanks for the scripture Matt.

    Yeah.

  10. 10 Sarah Chia November 30, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Hey, kid…

    you’re amazing. I love you. I miss you.

  11. 11 Jim Drake November 30, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Billy

    Hang in there.. you’ll be in my prayers this week.

  12. 12 Steffanie December 1, 2008 at 7:04 am

    Isn’t it awesome how faithful God is even in tough times! He is able to use us even when we feel that we’re not at the top of our game. I pray that His peace will flood your heart this week and that a resolution will be found.

  13. 13 candy December 1, 2008 at 8:17 am

    I must say that as part of the “crowd”, I am offended. What made you say we were “unenthusiastic”??? It is rare that an entire group gets in to it, so I am not speaking for the whole church…but for myself and many others, yesterday was a fresh move of the Holy Spirit.

  14. 14 klampert December 1, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Hey man…been a while…

    I moved my site and youve been wicked busy

    I am praying for you man…praying for peace.

    And I do understand your feelings when playing in church…cast all your cares on him man.

  15. 15 Pamela December 1, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Hey Billy,

    Hang in there! Bill and I are praying about the situation, and whatever may be going on. Yesterday was great! YOu and the band did an awesome job. The crowd, around me, showed enthusiasm. Maybe, it looked differently from the stage. But still awesome job as always!
    Pamela

  16. 16 Peter Park December 1, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Hey Billy,

    I know this might sound weird but I’m excited for you. This just means God is working on something awesome for you. I”ll be praying for you bro.

    Sincerely,
    Peter

  17. 17 Billy Chia December 1, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Candy & Pam,
    Thanks for the word of encouragement. It’s good to hear about God’s spirit moving.

    I’ve led worship in a lot of different churches all over the country. Chase Valley has typically been a more enthusiastic crowd than I’ve experienced in other places. Last Sunday signs enthusiasm were absent – people moved to the music less, sang along less, clapped/raised their hands less than they typically do. I’m not talking about anyone specifically – just a general read of the room.

    Keep the signs all in good theology. Singing/clapping does not equal worship. Worship is a heart, soul, mind and strength thing. Enthusiastic movement is only a fraction of a larger whole.

    Peter,
    Thanks bro. Yeah I believe that. God is working on me.

  18. 18 Dean Lusk December 1, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    “Singing/clapping does not equal worship. Worship is a heart, soul, mind and strength thing.”

    So why are you griping?

    KIDDING! I know exactly what you mean, and no matter how hard I try to keep that as a known reality in my head while leading, it is very difficult to dismiss people who have sour faces, etc.

    I felt that way about our service Sunday, too, but I learned later that I was the one with the problemo. I’d gone in with the specific “this is not about me entertaining” focus, and right away at pre-service rehearsal that mindset was shattered — things just did not flow. They didn’t flow too much better after that, in my opinion. Those who’ve given me feedback disagreed, mercifully.

    I’m praying for you, specifically, every single day. Now I’ll add the rest of the leadership at Chase Valley in there. May God show Himself to be way, way greater than you guys can possibly imagine, either in the long run or right now…

  19. 19 Billy Chia December 1, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    hahahahaha! That’s hilarious 🙂 Dean you are awesome man.

  20. 20 worshipcity December 3, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    After being out most of the Summer our pastor put in his 4 weeks notice making his last Sunday Thanksgiving Sunday. 2 of those 4 weeks he was also out. So it’s been quite tumultuous for us at River as well. Very inconvenient timing if I might gripe myself. I feel your pain man and am praying for you. As cheesy as it sounds (I can’t believe I’m thinking this to even write it) God’s shown us our dependance on Him during these weeks more than ever. Worship’s been hard but one of those when it’s bad it’s bad but when it’s good it’s really really good!
    Here’s to a really really good one for you this coming Sunday!

  21. 21 janowen December 3, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Billy, you know the IMMENSE turmoil we’ve experienced. I’d love to help you anyway I can – talking, listening, being a sounding board or even ministering to your staff and church in some way. Nothing will shock me after all we went through. I’d love to minister to you in anyway you need it. Email me if I could help. Sorry I’m just now reading this on my “sick night”…..remain faithful to what God has called you to do my friend. We all have days.

  22. 22 Joey Davis December 4, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    The things that challenge us make us stronger. Just remember that the narrow gate that we walk our flesh through is sometimes tough, but the reward is unmeasureable. The flow through the wide gate is smooth and swift, but there is nothing at the end of that path that is everlasting. Like Steven Curtis Chapman sings, “…if this is what makes me grow stronger, then bring it on!” You and those that choose to shall overcome. May God’s peace and love through His Holy Spirit guide you in your ways. Wait for it….wait 🙂

  23. 23 Joey Davis December 4, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Hey, after 3 months I have finally written a new post….hee hee


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


