Sometimes God Whispers and Sometimes He Shouts

We found a church today. The Chias will be looking to hook into Summit Crossing Community Church. The service today was great. I could go on an on about all the things I love about this church…

like the way they recycled an old church building and outfitted it for modern worship instead of spending big bucks on a constructing their own building, or how they are doing four identical services so they can maximize their efforts while minimizing the financial investment it takes to put on a worship service in order to pour more resources into the community of Huntsville/Madison, or the fact that the audio mix had a healthy does of electric guitar and kick drum

But I won’t do that. (too much) I’ll just say,

God whispered to me, “This is the place.”

Right in the middle of first worship song. I knew that if Sarah didn’t hear the same thing then we’d be looking further, but she did. Even my daughter Eve wanted to come back.

That wasn’t the only thing God said to me today. God was raging on my heart all morning. He said a lot more to me including:

I’ll use you in the field of IT Networking

Today a man got baptized at the beginning of the service. Sarah and I were in tears at his testimony. He said, “I’m a computer nerd and never spent a lot of time with people or religion…but someone invited me to Summit Crossing and now Jesus is my savior.” I’ve been busting my hump doing online network training. My goal is to get some tech certifications and move into a career in the IT industry. I’ve wrestled with this a lot – especially the amount of time it takes to do the online training.

Today God confirmed in a big way that He’s sending me into a mission field where few can go to reach people few can reach. There are many more “computer nerds” out there who need Jesus.

Do what no one else wants to do

A chief concern for Sarah and I has been where we’ll plug into a church to serve. I need a break from leadership, but don’t want to stop being a Christian. I still want to serve.

Today Paul, the teaching pastor, made a challenge to everyone. He asked that as Summit moves to a 4 service format (2 in the AM and 2 in the PM) that folks choose either AM or PM time and then worship at one service and serve at another. As he talked about different areas of need it occurred to me that God was just calling me to serve wherever there was the deepest need. It may be out of my comfort zone or something I’m no good at, but for this season it’s what God’s calling me to.

Spend less time doing network training

At I was a little confused when I heard this. Especially since only a half-hour earlier God told me to plunge full forward into computer networking. Paul preached a tremendous sermon on simplicity (check it out here.) He talked about how we all spend too much time getting distracted by being busy. This was super convicting to me – some days I work 8-5 and then come home to do online training all evening. Paul challenged everyone to “Turn everything off for 2 hours in the evening from 6-8pm, and just have family time or alone time with God.” We’re gonna do it.

Starting today the computer, phones, tv, etc… will all shut down from 6-8 and we’ll do family worship time. It’s a little scary because I’m not sure where I’ll fit in my network training, but I believe God is faithful and will provide the oppertunity.

13 Responses to “Sometimes God Whispers and Sometimes He Shouts”


  1. 1 Wendy January 4, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    I am happy for you guys. I love it when God speaks to me like that. It is amazing that the God who is all In all has time to be personal with us

  2. 2 Amanda January 4, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Thank you for sharing this. So happy for you guys! πŸ™‚

  3. 3 worshipcity January 4, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    “I need a break from leadership, but don’t want to stop being a Christian. I still want to serve.”
    I LOVE IT. RIght on man. So glad ya’ll found a place! This is great.

  4. 5 brunettekoala January 5, 2009 at 6:25 am

    Wow! Hallelujah!

    So glad that the Chia’s have found a new church family to get connected into.

    πŸ™‚

  5. 6 Kyle January 5, 2009 at 11:30 am

    That’s awesome man, so happy for you guys finding a new church home. As a saved computer nerd myself I can testify that the kingdom needs more nerds, so anything I can do to serve and help you become more nerdy I consider a great honor.

    I just subscribed to Summit’s podcast so I’ll be tuning in every now and then. God is good.

  6. 7 unexpectedthankyou January 5, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    I’m excited for you man. let me know how things go.

    Sincerely,
    Peter

  7. 8 Al Sr January 5, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    God is good God is Great, continue to listen

  8. 9 Joey Davis January 6, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    My sister, Dewanna Ross, attends that church and has for several years now. She loves it. I am glad that you have found a little peace.

  9. 10 Russ January 7, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    Congrats bro. I know it’s a good thing to be plugged into the right place…for you and your family!

    God’s Best!

  10. 11 dorothy (vicar of vibe) January 11, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    I am so excited for you and your family.
    Remeber, you can still post on Sunday Set lists as a worshipper. I do…

  11. 12 Billy Chia January 12, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Dorothy,
    Right on! When I get to know the worship crew a little more at SC3 I’ll have to post some set lists or have some of the other guys post on their blogs πŸ™‚

  12. 13 Tom - IHeartWorship.com January 23, 2009 at 8:18 am

    I am glad you have found a great church to plug into. But most of all I love that you have put your family first with the ‘technology free hours’ at night! I’m sure you will reap the benefits of this.


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


