Sunday Setlist

I played electric guitar today at SC3. It was a blast, here’s the set –

  • The Lovliest Sound – Starfield
  • Glorious – Tomlin
  • Take my Life – Tomlin
  • Surrender – Jeremy Camp
  • Let it Rise – Holland Davis

Man it was nice being back on stage to help lead worship again. Today was probably the most laid back experience I’ve ever had playing on any worship team I’ve ever been on. They just have their stuff together at Summit. There’s lots of folks on the team who have been doing it for a long time and everyone was so professional. (The Drummer today actually played Djembe in the Elder’s living room at the very first service 5 years ago when the church was planted.)

I LOVE playing guitar 2. Today we had acoustic and lead electric along with my rhythm electric. This is such a fun position to play because you get to add a lot of nuanced parts. The main structure of the song isn’t relying on your part, but it just gives the mix that little something extra. It’s like being the special sauce.

Let it Rise really torn it up today. They rock pretty hard most Sundays at Summit but this song just took it to the next level. At rehearsal Patrick, our worship pastor, said to the lead gutiar, “You have the GREEN LIGHT – I wanna hear Def Leapord going on during this song!” It was tons of fun and the people were just lovin’ it.

Of course we all know God smiles when he hears guitar solos in church πŸ™‚

Check out more setlist mainia at Fred McKinnon.com

10 Responses to “Sunday Setlist”


  1. 1 Dorothy (vicar of vibe) February 8, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    So good to hear from you.
    I miss “Let It Rise”…

  2. 2 Chris Stout February 9, 2009 at 12:08 am

    Dude,

    So glad to hear you back in it again!

  3. 3 Louise February 9, 2009 at 12:59 am

    The ‘special sauce’. You’re so right. I’m trying to get my second vocalist to do this for us, but at 15, she’s a little nervous.

    I think Let it Rise is going to have to make its way into one of my setlists soon.

  4. 4 unexpectedthankyou February 9, 2009 at 5:26 am

    That’s awesome. Is the music primarily contemporary?

  5. 5 Mike February 9, 2009 at 7:04 am

    Billy, good to see you back playing! “Let it Rise…” we haven’t doen that in so long. I can really see rocking that one out.

  6. 6 Steff February 9, 2009 at 7:06 am

    Glad to hear that you’ve found a place of worship. Also its great that you get to be the special sauce. πŸ™‚

  7. 7 Don Chia February 9, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    -B,

    Glad to hear you’ve “plugged” back in and most of all felt comfortable running through some licks at your new place of worship.

    The ole Les Paul has been fully tuned and in action for the past 5+ weeks, you’ll have to teach me a thing or to next time we connect. I was thinking about coming down this spring or summer…

    –Don

  8. 8 worshipcity February 9, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Nothing yummier than 3 guitars! I love it!

    I needed this post too. Our worship team did Everlasting God and My Hope is You and for some reason the worship leader removed both solos. I got all excited ‘knowing’ what was coming and then when they didn’t I deflated a little bit. I know that’s very un-spiritual and what not but it happened 😦 well and it happened twice. So it’s exciting hearing that ya’ll are pumped about using that to enhance the worship time with music.

  9. 9 Ron Springer February 12, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    hey billy glad to see you back at it need a drummer? just kidding i am still doing the drum thing at CFC playing for god is to cool huh

  10. 10 Karl February 17, 2009 at 12:54 am

    hehe +1 on guitar solos. πŸ™‚


Comments are currently closed.



 

Follow me on Twitter


